Day Phnom 1: Act Like You Know The Place! - Down Pat - CycleBlaze

January 21, 2024

Day Phnom 1: Act Like You Know The Place!

The immigration officer noticed I was nervous on arrival and said, "One piece of advice sir, for your safety don't ever act nervous in this country.  Act like you know the place!  Act like you have a wife here."  All good advice and he was just trying to cheer me up which was appreciated.  Truth of the matter is that I was still shellshocked from the past travel restrictions and lockdowns.  Plus, when in China you are surrounded by constant propaganda that says "It is dangerous when you go abroad to other countries", so it creates unncessary fear. 

With that as a backdrop, I figured to hell with acting all cautious and shit.  I might as well ride a bicycle into the city from the airport at 11pm.  But first, a coffee stop and a SIM card. 

Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSo much weight on that "rack" -I suspect not designed for it and will eventually fatigue and break-

Perhaps some enterprising hack might be able to design some light fold down braces from the center of the rack to the hub?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I love this country already and haven't even left the airport. Really chill vibes and good weather
Heart 0 Comment 0

The stress was already starting to disspitate despite such a frenetic travel day.  That would explain the ridiculous nervous energy on arrival.  The immigration officer was basically saying chill the fuck out and relax, it's holiday time.  And so it was.

The biking was so easy and smooth it didn't even feel like I was pushing the pedals.  Just once glance at the initial GPS map and I put the phone away, memorized the route to the hotel, and got there easily.  There were tons of places to stop for food and beers if I wanted, very similar to the Laos arrival last July.

Easy riding. No honking or aggressive drivers who hate bikes
Heart 0 Comment 0

The only drawbacks were the awkward bike bag which I will mail ahead to Thailand, and the fact that the rear rack was useless for panniers.  There was too much weight and it dragged down onto the back tire so I will need another method.

But I rocked up to my M Residence condotel and a sports bar across the street was playing loud music.  Check in could wait.  It was time to celebrate with a beer.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Really good rooms here. M Residence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 km (7 miles)
Total: 12 km (7 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0