SPOKANE, WASHINGTON: Like a Lemon - The Dotted Lines Of The Inland Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2019

SPOKANE, WASHINGTON: Like a Lemon

Bittersweet is a great word.  It connotes the idea that something can be nasty and tasty at the same time.  Like a lemon.  Like a shot of whiskey.  Like a Chicken McNugget.  Or, less literallly, like the last day of a bike tour.

BITTER: There will be no more days of waking up to the exciting prospect of some new discovery while riding your bike.  You are returning to your everyday existence--the lawn that needs mowing, the work that has piled up on your desk, etc.  Whether your everyday existence is boring and meaningless, or extremely fulfilling in every way, it's STILL your everyday existence.

SWEET: You will soon be returning to your home, the arms of your loving spouse, the familiarity of friends and neighbors, the "welcome home" licks to the face from your dog.  There is also something sweet about getting that lawn mowed.

Those are some of the thoughts I had while loading my stuff onto the bike for the last time.  They're also the thoughts that disappeared the minute I cranked my pedals forward.  At that time, my bittersweet feelings turned into a focus on completing this mission.

Today's part of the mission began with a climb away from Colfax and then I was back into the last vestiges of the Palouse, one mile at a time, one hill at a time.  I took some pleasure in voicing my opinion directly to the hills.  "Hills, you don't scare me.  I'm a Tough Guy and you aren't any more or less difficult than the hills I've been riding for the last several days."  The hills had no response to my comment.

That imposing hill is called "Steptoe Butte." It was visible for quite a few miles.
Heart 3 Comment 0
"PATCHES OF COLOURS." That's the title I gave to this work of art. Most photography-lovers will appreciate how I used the British spelling of "color" to make it seem even MORE artistic.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Scott AndersonFinally getting back to rereading this. It makes me want to come back again some year and see it all in a different season. Green or golden, it’s quite amazing.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonI know, right? I dont know if they get much snow in the Palouse, but I think it would be fantastic under a light blanket of snow.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauThat’s funny. Coincidentally, I just came across a photo of the Palouse blanketed in snow this morning. Ethereal.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
I call this one "GIANT MECHANICAL GUARDIANS OF THE PALOUSE."
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was more great scenery that I wished could continue to infinity.

I pulled off the highway at a rest area that turned out to be the oldest rest area in the state of Washington.  As such, it deserved to be well-maintained, and it WAS.  I spoke to the guy who just got done maintaining the restrooms.  I told him I was quite impressed by this old rest area and he returned my compliment by saying, "I drove past you a few miles back.  I couldn't believe it.  Where the hell are you going on that thing?"

The end of The Palouse Scenic Byway came just after the town of Rosalia.  Then I started seeing smatterings of pine trees and horse farms.  The highway expanded from two lanes to four lanes.   There were more and more crossroads, billboards, golf courses, housing developments, and cars.  A small sign said "Bicycles Must Exit Here."  I did exit and I worked my way to downtown Spokane. 

By far, Spokane is the biggest city of my tour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And it has big city problems. In this case it was a bunch of homeless people and a bunch of policemen yelling at each other.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Falls of the Spokane River
Heart 1 Comment 0
The site of Expo '74, the first environmentally themed world's fair.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After my break in the inner city, I still had about ten miles to ride before reaching my in-law's house, The Feeshko's loving arms, and my dog's welcoming licks to the face.  I slowly rode the city streets to the northeast side of Spokane, then I had one final challenge ahead me:  three-quarters of a mile of gravel to the top of the Mount St. Michael hill.

Almost there
Heart 2 Comment 0
And one final test of The Feeshko's love at the bottom of her parent's driveway. SHE LOVES ME!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Good night.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 790 miles (1,271 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0