COULEE DAM, WASHINGTON: How Could Anybody Want to See a Dam So Much? - The Dotted Lines Of The Inland Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2019

COULEE DAM, WASHINGTON: How Could Anybody Want to See a Dam So Much?

Wilbur, being southwest of the fire, was still in the path of the smoke blowing in with the northeast wind this morning.  However, I saw my chance for a possible escape.  I figured I could ride north to the Grand Coulee Dam and rid myself of this unexpected problem.  It turned out to be some pretty good thinking on my part.  

The first nine miles were very straight, but with consistent half-mile uphills and quarter-mile downhills at a medium grade of difficulty.  From the very start I could see the high point up ahead even though it was still nine miles away.  Distances are very deceiving out here.

The smoke is coming at me from the epicenter of the forest fire, but LOOK--a clearing sky to the north.
Heart 1 Comment 0
You can't tell from this photo, but there are several undulating hills and about seven more miles between me and the high point.
Heart 1 Comment 0
"Hey Greg, look, it's a partial bottle of thirst-quenching PowerAde," announced G-2. "You look pretty thirsty. I bet it would taste pretty good right about now."
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith KleinOh, fer Gross!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
"Hmmmm. Come to think of it, I COULD use some electrolyte replacement fluids. Thanks, G-2."
Heart 1 Comment 0

The second half of the ride brought me downhill--at a rapid rate of speed--into the semi-desert environment of Washington's Coulee Country.  Landscapes change around here in a matter of minutes--even for a bicycle rider.  Washington is a northern state, so it seems kind of odd to see landscapes that are more reminiscent of Wyoming or Colorado or Utah.

Ninety-one degrees, very arid, and SPECTACULAR!
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a place I will always remember because I conducted the most important Church of the Great Outdoors ritual in the green sagebrush.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Grand Coulee Dam was one destination I did not want to miss.  No whimsical change of route would have diverted me away from it.  One way or another I would find my way to the dam and no big hills, high heat, forest fire, closed campground, invading ants, RV drivers, or weird tasting bottles of PowerAde could ever stop me from that inevitable result.  I took many pictures of the beautiful area around the dam and its visitor center, but you'll be thankful I edited them down to only five.

Before I post those pictures, I have something else to say.  I'm not really much of a museum guy.  In truth, I was almost as bored at the Fort Spokane museum as the ranger who was working there.  There were a few interesting things, but nothing to write home about (to use a cliche since I couldn't think of a better phrase on my own.)

The Grand Coulee Dam Visitor Center, however, was full of amazing displays of human bravery, technological wonders, heavy-duty industrial magic, and amazing facts and figures.  I won't bore you with everything I learned, but here is one thing I found to be astounding.  The dam is the largest concrete structure in North America and there is enough concrete in it to pave a 4' sidewalk around the world--TWICE!

This is a view of the back of the dam.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here is the front of the dam. I think I read that about 40% of it is underwater.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As you can see, I am buddies with President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Frank authorized the funding for this dam which provides enough electricity to power a great portion of the northwestern U.S. I wore my best orange biking shirt to meet him, just as I did when I met the other President Roosevelt two years ago.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekIt pays to dress for meetings with important dignitaries named Roosevelt.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Here I am with my friend, Teddy Roosevelt, from my 2017 bike tour.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekWhich is which?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The road grade down to the visitor center is said to be 10%. I don't think the switchbacks make this bike trail any better.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A direct view of the Grand Coulee Dam while crossing the Columbia River.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 294 miles (473 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0