Going down to the river. - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2019

Going down to the river.

It was cold this morning when I got up. I ate a leisurely breakfast, and left late. My plan was to take it relatively easy today and not go very far, but I was able to destroy those plans rather quickly, and not that long after I set out. I retraced my steps from two days previous going back to Égletons . An easy 19 km ride, and oh so much nicer without the thunderstorms and rain. From Égletons the plan was to follow the D18 to Argentat. A wide, easy road that goes mostly down, giving me 48 km to ride to reach my next hotel. My mistake was to miss a sign and sail off down the D16, also a wide, easy road that went mostly down, and mostly free of traffic to boot. When I got to Lapleau, I stopped for coffee. Funny, I didn’t remember any Lapleau on my route. Consulting the map, I discovered my error. Ouch. The road that would take me from Lapleau back to my planned route was not wide, not at all flat, not easy, but it was free from traffic, as in “who the heck would use this road if they didn’t have to?” 

The nasty road ended here. I think the name of this village was appropriate under the circonstances. St. Merd is awfully close to St. Merde, which translates into English as “Holy Sh*t”
Heart 2 Comment 0

In St. Merd, I cagot back on a wide, relatively easy road and followed it to Marcillac le Croisille, where I could stop for lunch. I bought a sandwich in  a little bakery, and sat in the park across the street.

Market day was just finishing up, and I watched as the merchants packed up.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on the D18, I had little further problems getting to Argentat. With just seven kilometers to go, there was a short, sharp climb followed by a long screaming downhill to the banks of the Dordogne river.

Just outside Argentat there is a dam on the river. The reservoir created by the dam boasts this chateau on its banks.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I found my hotel without difficulty, and settled in. The usual shower, and change and I went off to have a look at the town. 

The northern bank of the river in Argentat.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The southern side.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had dinner in the hotel. It was actually a bit chilly on the terrasse, so I ate indoors, and even though the windows were wide open at least I was out of the wind. A vegetable soup led off followed ham and melon, and then by steak and fries with chocolate cake for dessert. All of it was very good, but not terribly photogenic.

Today's ride: 79 km (49 miles)
Total: 919 km (571 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0