Rest Day in the Land of the Unibomber - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2023

Rest Day in the Land of the Unibomber

Lincoln is actually a pretty nice place to stop- plenty of services, scenic, a great sculpture park and friendly people- and it's really not fair to associate the town primarily with the terrorist Ted Kaczynski. But it made for a snappy title for this entry. 

We started the day with delicious eggs and bacon cooked by Lisa and Jen. The cabin was comfortable and worked well for the 6 of us, and it's always hard to leave comfort and luxury after living rough for a few weeks. This was the first indoor sleeping I've done since I started. 

Heart 5 Comment 0

We spent the morning at a sculpture park east of town, which is worth a visit if you're ever in the area. http://www.sculptureinthewild.com/

Photos:

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
The sculpture park
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Bill, who is awesome. I've taught him some important life skills over the past 3 weeks, including how to say "BOOM", the deliciousness of those orange peanut butter crackers sandwiches and which large and heavy rocks to stow in the trailer to take back to N Zed..
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

After the sculpture park we mostly had a relaxing day, capped off with grilled chicken by Lisa and sides/salads by Jen. 

I am filming my adventure with a GoPro, and had been talking with August and Ellie about interviewing them. So I did just that with the help of some insightful questions from Jen and Lisa. I haven't watched it yet, but I think it'll be entertaining. They've actually become sort of "trip famous", towing Bill and all. We would roll into a town and someone will say, "Oh yeah, we heard about you guys!" Of course, they might be talking about me, but I let the Kiwis go ahead and think it's about them. It's the polite thing to do. 

Jen's mom has been in poor health for some time, and it was clear that she was rapidly declining. Jen's diversion to Lincoln on their way back from Denver was designed to allow us to talk about plans for me to get back home and then to Denver for a funeral, and it was comforting to have that opportunity. I went into this knowing that ending or interrupting the trip was a likely possibility, and that's where we are. 

Tomorrow Jen and Lisa will start driving back towards Oregon, and us (we?) riders head back out into the wilderness, fighting death, griz, hell and decomposure.  I'll be looking at the maps and will figure out where the best jumping-off point is in the next week or so. I thought either Helena or Butte would be the most logical, because beyond Butte there is really nowhere to rent a car or get a flight until Steamboat Springs, several hundred miles beyond.

Lisa and Jen grilled some delicious chicken NOT from a can, and salad.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauNot only did it make a snappy title for this entry, but now I think I know where you got the title for your journal. I can't prove it, but "The Revolution Starts Now" is probably a quote from the unibomber's infamous manifesto. Maybe I'll have to read that thing to find other parallels with your journal. Haha!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauYou've unlocked the key to my mysterious mind!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago