Port Jervis NY to Shawnee PA - Crossing the Delaware - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2023

Port Jervis NY to Shawnee PA

Day Two

  I walked to Muller’s Port Jervis Diner and ordered breakfast. The men were complaining about social security, road work and the Yankees. The cheerful waitress was a nice juxtaposition. After breakfast, I went back to my room at the Erie and carried my bicycle and bags down the stairs. I fiddled with the fenders, which were rattling and rubbing. I tightened the cable on the front bag rack, mounted my steed and rode down Jersey Avenue toward the Garden State..

   River Road in New Jersey had a few hills. It was a rough start. I crossed the Delaware into Pennsylvania, south of Milford.

Kayakers under the Milford Montague Toll Bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0

I headed to Milford Beach and the start of the McDade Recreational Trail. The McDade Trail started off great, went back under the bridge, alongside the river through huge fields. Then it ended abruptly.

   The bicycle trail then merged with Rt. 209. The hiking trail stayed off the road. This happened about two more times, then there were miles of gravel skirting newly-planted corn fields and the Delaware River.

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was a great ride, less linear than the rail trails and tow paths. When the path approached and passed Park Headquarters it became steep and curvy. There was an adjacent road that would have been easier and safer with a loaded touring bike. After the 30 miles of the McDade Trail I pedaled into Shawnee Village and the Shawnee Inn.

    The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort is an interesting place–an old hotel with beautiful grounds, restaurants, a brewery and tired rooms. The $150 I negotiated from the original $200 I was quoted was still too much but I was too beat to look for something else. I wandered around  the property, checking out the river, bar, restaurant and brewery. The Italian restaurant was empty. The waitress and hostess showed me the menu, which had the usual plates: chicken parm, penne alla vodka. You know, Italian food for Irish people.

Heart 0 Comment 0

   I wandered into the bar and three guys were arguing about where they were supposed to meet their friends. At first, I thought it was a Special Ed outing. Then I realized they were massively drunk. I later saw one of the trio refusing to ‘borrow’ a golf cart with his two comrades. The bar was too loud to eat in so I walked back into the Italian joint. The hostess and waitress had suddenly vanished. I waited then roamed around the empty restaurant, yelled a hello and eventually left.

   The inn’s brewery only had pizza and I was not feeling it. I ventured up to the main road, walked into the Gem, sat at the bar and got a menu and sat some more. I decided that the acoustic singer/ guitarist didn't need to be amplified in the small room. The bartender was nowhere to be found so I went upstairs to the restaurant. It was quiet, service existed–and was good. The steak salad was even better. But I may have been starving.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 102 miles (164 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0