The Plan and Route Finding - Crossing the Delaware - CycleBlaze

The Plan and Route Finding

A 200 mile bicycle ride from Kingston, New York to Trenton, NJ during the week of May 21st, 2023. My path eventually follows the Delaware River, crossing back and forth over the river a few times. The route tries to shadow towpaths and rail trails when possible and convenient.  I prefer the quiet party pace and the lack of interface with cars and trucks. You give up the smoothness and speed of asphalt. The mixed bag of surfaces is something I am willing to put up with. On this journey I am using my, new-to-me, Priority 600, a belt driven, Pinion gearbox, 650b wheelset, leg-powered 12 speed. 

   I contemplated camping out and decided I would prefer the convenience of a credit card tour. Finding hotels front loaded my mileage with the first day being 60 miles, the second day 55 miles and the subsequent days 35 or less. At the end of the tour, I am going to take a NJ Transit train into NYC where I have a home. The weather looks great. I am leaving on a Sunday and should be finished by Friday. I am hoping to avoid the holiday weekend hotel rush. Wish me luck.

 I find putting together a route, a bit of a project, there never seems to be a perfect prefabricated map. I find myself using a variety of sources including but not limited to, Google maps, Ride with GPS, TrailLink, Adventure Cycling Association, cycle.travel.com, Bikepacking.com, Cycleblaze.com and crazyguyonabike.com. I was initially going to camp, Oakland Valley in Cuddebackville, Elks Brox in Port Jervis, Dingman’s Ferry, maybe some stealth camping or the riverside spots reserved for the canoeists. Dogwood Haven, Black Eddy and Tinicum Park were spots closer to Trenton.

  There were various routes that crossed my path including, Joe’s of 718c.com, the 9/11 trail and the ACA Atlantic bicycle route. I used parts of all these sources. Sections of the route I contemplated are closed due to nesting raptors. The National Parks Service warns against Rt. 209 and River Road. Some parts of my route are a designated bicycle route in NY State. I drove by part of this the other day and the road didn’t have any shoulder. I wonder what criteria if any designates a state bicycle road? As for a packing list, I have a general list on LighterPack.com that I trim as style, time and weather dictate. https://lighterpack.com/r/gwvuwha7  This trip, my rear panniers weigh 18 pounds combined and my handlebar bag weighs 4 pounds.

Betty loaded up
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0