New Hope PA to Trenton NJ - Crossing the Delaware - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2023

New Hope PA to Trenton NJ

Day Five

   I walked over to McDonalds for a double flapjack breakfast. MIckeyD’s has good pancakes. I wish they had a real maple syrup option.

   After breakfast, I cruised down the hill to the bike path and enjoyed the flatness. I stopped at the various Washington Crossing State parks. I wish I had an afternoon to hike the Wildflower Preserve. I did listen a little to the Revolutionary reenactors talk with school children. I traversed the Delaware one more time at Washington Crossing then pushed into Trenton. The Hessians were long gone.

   In Trenton, I stopped at the Washington Memorial and rode to the Trenton Transit Center.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I purchased a $17 train ticket to Penn Station NYC on the NJ Transit Commuter Line. This is much cheaper than Amtrak. But you can only bring the bike on the train at off peak hours and it is at the discretion of the conductor. There was no surcharge for the bicycle. I brought it to the platform via the elevator then I put the bike in the handicap spot after pushing up the seats. It was an easy journey.

Heart 0 Comment 0

   In Manhattan, I used the escalators to move Betty up to street level. I rode to the Hudson River Greenway over the fairly-new Brooklyn Bridge bikeway and home to Brooklyn.

A Manhattan Tree
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 203 miles (327 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0