Preambling down to the border - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2023 to May 29, 2023

Preambling down to the border

Albuquerque to Columbus, NM
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m sitting on the patio at Los Milagros Hotel (a”boutique hotel”, according to google), sipping beers and wondering if I really want to undertake a blog. So much work! So much responsibility!

Nicest spot in Columbus, NM
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left Albuquerque on the morning of May 25, with the general plan of riding from Mexico to Canada. The first part, to the border, is largely familiar to me from previous rides so I don’t really feel like I’ve started anything new yet. 

Five days to the border, one night in a tent and the rest in motels.  More money spent on lodging than I’d like, but I’m all for comfort and this early in the trip I’m being nice to myself. 

5/25/23 Albuquerque to Belen, 46 miles

Setting off
Heart 1 Comment 0
According to lore, our branch of the Chavez clan has roots here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Grande, looking north towards Albuquerque
Heart 1 Comment 0
My paternal grandfather was born in Peralta
Heart 0 Comment 0
But not in this house
Heart 0 Comment 0
I met Archie in a park in Los Lunas, an interesting character with lots of opinions and information. I wanted to get a picture of him while sharing his thoughts but when I asked he got all serious, tossed his cigarette and jumped up to pose with his bike
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camping at the Belen Travelodge
Heart 0 Comment 0

5/26/23 Belen to Socorro, 44 miles

Ethan, microbiologist turned recently fired truck driver who I met at a gas station restaurant outside Lemitar. A kindred spirit, we had identical photographs of the Katy Trail on our phones
Heart 0 Comment 0
Escondido Lake, outside Socorro
Heart 0 Comment 0
Escondido Lake County Park
Heart 0 Comment 0

5/27/23 Socorro to T or C, 81 miles

I foolishly skipped two opportunities to top off my water bottles and ended up running dry with more than 20 miles to go. I was able to beg some water from a surly officer in state police car lurking in the median, and won’t make that mistake again. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

5/28/23 T or C to Deming, 95 miles

After yesterday’s 80 mile day I was hoping for a shorter ride to Hatch, but  wasn’t excited about the heat and camping options when I got there. After spending a few hours dozing in the city park, drinking milkshakes and watching the wind blow I opted to push on to Deming, leaving around 5 pm and getting in just after midnight. Not having to deal with the winds and warm temperatures made it a very pleasant ride, albeit long.

5/29/23 Deming to Columbus, 40 miles

Another day of headwinds, all for the sake of a spot on a map. Columbus is about 3 miles to the border proper, so I rode down first to get a photo and check that box before returning to town and Los Milagros Hotel. 

There was another cyclist at the hotel, Cathy who had just ridden in from El Paso. She’s continuing west to join a group riding the mountain bike trail that goes up the continental divide.

Phillip, the 70-something proprietor of Los Milagros, took the two of us into Las Palomas on the Mexican side for dinner. He’s quite the character, runs a slew of businesses on both sides of the border, and manages various ex wives in the States and girlfriends in Mexico. 

Not a lot of scenery
Heart 0 Comment 0
But some
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting close
Heart 0 Comment 0
Columbus, NM
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
US/Mexico border complex
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Wall
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’ll be back
Heart 2 Comment 0
My hotel in Columbus. Very comfortable
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took the day off, doing bike maintenance and sharing beers with Johnnie out on the patio. He was in town to settle a dispute between the American Legion and the VFW
Heart 0 Comment 0
I went back to Palomas for dinner again tonight. It’s a sleepy little town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a selfie Phillip sent to his girlfriend who was asking him what he was up to
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 305 miles (491 km)
Total: 305 miles (491 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
George HallI'm planning my own border-to-border journey for later this year, so I was glad to discover this journal. I'll be following along, best of luck to you
Reply to this comment
10 months ago