05/31/23 Columbus to Faywood Hot Springs - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2023

05/31/23 Columbus to Faywood Hot Springs

Heart 1 Comment 1
Cassidy ChenSo fun to read! I am totally making Alan take me to Faywood Hot Springs!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

I enjoyed my day off in Columbus, but by Wednesday morning I was feeling like I’d been stopped for too long and needed to get moving again.  I was kind of expecting/hoping I’d tailwind it all the way to Silver City but that didn’t materialize. Warm, unfriendly winds all day. I had a rest stop halfway between Deming and Silver City as my backup destination but that plan changed  when I noticed a faded advertisement for some hot springs, soon after leaving Deming.   Faywood Hot Springs is about 2 miles off the highway, nice, not at all fancy but with plenty of hot pools to soak in, half clothing optional.  After setting up camp I went over to the bathhouse near my tent site for a shower and a soak.    The pools were divine, hot, very hot, and cold. I had two soaks, one after arrival and another just before bed. It was wonderful. 

I was excited to see these in Columbus, but they weren’t actually working
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m all for bike lanes, but this is so out of place, an obvious waste of public funds
Heart 1 Comment 0
Scenery looks the same as it did day before yesterday
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Northbound immigration checkpoint. Everyone was getting waved through
Heart 0 Comment 0
The first migrant trail to Southern California
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course there’s a bullet hole
Heart 0 Comment 0
I spent my 63rd birthday in this shelter waiting out the wind, and would have done so again had I not found out about the hot springs just down the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Faywood Hot Springs. I’ll be coming back
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pure bliss
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 366 miles (589 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0