06/01/23 Faywood Hot Springs to Silver City - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2023

06/01/23 Faywood Hot Springs to Silver City

Heart 0 Comment 0



I woke up with the birds around 5:30, packed up my gear and headed over to the bathhouse for a final soak. I really enjoyed this place and see myself coming back.

Breakfast was 16 miles up the road in a diner at the Conoco station in Hurley.  Even though the winds continue, for the first time since leaving Albuquerque it hasn’t been hot. It’s nice to be out of the desert.

I hung out in a bar in Silver City staring at the map. I’ve decided that since I’m already here I’ll take a side trip of a couple of days to go explore the Gila Wilderness and visit the cliff dwellings at the end of the road. I’m tempted by the availability of more hot springs. 

I didn’t intend to stay in Silver City, but I ended up lingering so that by the time I’d decided to take a side trip it was late enough that I decided to call it a day and found a nice Airbnb for the evening, a few blocks from High Desert Pies and pretty good pizza. 

Looked like this for much of the morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of color
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYellow flowers are a species of primrose. With about 9 species of yellow ones in the area, and no real expertise on my part, I will just say primrose.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/914077-Oenothera

The pinkish one is a thistle. Likely a New Mexico thistle.

http://www.polyploid.net/swplants/pages/Cirsium_neom.html
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sharing the road
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltFence lizard.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/36204-Sceloporus-occidentalis
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Some of the tailings from the Santa Rita open pit mine peeking over the horizon in Bayard
Heart 0 Comment 0
My Airbnb in Silver City
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 398 miles (641 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0