08/27/23 Brookings, OR to Crescent City, CA - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2023

08/27/23 Brookings, OR to Crescent City, CA

A short and smokey dash into California
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn’t get out of my tent until late, having decided in the night that I’d stay another day, have a leisurely breakfast in town, do laundry, find all I needed at Fred Meyer’s and give the air another day to clear.  None of that happened.  All the independent restaurants I remember being in Brookings seem to have remained on the other side of the pandemic, the laundromat never opened, and Fred Meyer’s was sorely lacking in bicycle appropriate camping gear.   I studied air quality maps as I munched my McGriddle and decided that waiting for the smoke to clear was a fool’s errand and returned to the campground, packed up and left at noon.  A very late start but I wasn’t going far. I’d heard through the grapevine that there was a church in Crescent City that hosted cyclists, googled around and found St. Paul’s Episcopal, where I’ve got the entire auxiliary to myself and a sofa to sleep on.

I look forward to being past all this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Smoke, not mist
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Someone didn’t ask permission
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remains of an old growth giant. I believe the notches at the bottom were made by 19th century loggers
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey kids, I’m coming
Heart 0 Comment 0
All mine for the night. Shower and kitchen too
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 3,912 miles (6,296 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0