08/28/23 Crescent City misfire - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2023

08/28/23 Crescent City misfire

St. Paul’s Church to Sutter Coast Hospital
Heart 0 Comment 1
George MercerTake care of yourself, amigo!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

While googling a breakfast restaurant I discovered there’s a Walmart in town, rode over and scored a decent air mattress which I can carry on my bike. My mood lifted immediately and immensely, just knowing I have a comfortable end point makes any intervening unpleasantness easy to dismiss. So even though the morning air was the worst I’ve seen to date, I left town in high spirits knowing it was only going to get better. I stopped to take a picture of the gloom and while doing so, coughed. And when I did I somehow tensed up in a way that absolutely destroyed my right leg. I’d never felt such pain, ever. I yelled involuntarily, I could not stand. I flagged down a truck with a pair of painters on their way to work and they took me and my bike to the local ER where I was X-rayed and diagnosed with an inflamed arthritic hip. I got a shot of ketorolac which made the pain subside considerably and am fully mobile again. This is different from the overdeveloped quad pains I was dealing with earlier and which have largely subsided. I’m taking two days off to see what happens next.  Fortunately I’m welcome to stay at the church, there’s not much else available with all the firefighters in town. 

My attitude towards McDonald’s and Walmart is parked back home, on the road they are a welcome sight
Heart 2 Comment 0
Firefighters are quite popular right now
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at Crescent City on the way out of town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking south, just before I coughed
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back at St. Paul’s for R&R. Note the clear blue sky… there’s no point including smoke in any planning, other than to get past it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0