08/25/23 Bandon to Humbug Mountain SP - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2023

08/25/23 Bandon to Humbug Mountain SP

Heart 0 Comment 0

The skies opened up last night with the arrival of the remains of the storm moving up from California.  Bright flashes of lightning, loud and satisfyingly long peaks of thunder and the rain pounding down on my tent. I was warm and dry inside, thinking of my jacket draped over the back of my bike, getting soaked.  

I went into Port Orford for breakfast and to try to find out what was going on with smoke and fires, was joined at my table by Morgan who is traveling around with her truck and also trying to find out information. She’d seen my bike parked outside and came looking for me, thinking I’d know what was going on since I was traveling too.  I considered hitching a ride with here to the other side of the mountains, but it’s nasty there too. The locals, it turned out, were a fountain of misinformation but just by looking at air quality maps we both decided to just stick to the coast and go out separate ways. 

Not a lot of pictures, this is representative of most of the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
But an occasional pretty view, in spite of the haze
Heart 0 Comment 0
Got rock?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped here for fish and chips and bicycle talk
Heart 0 Comment 0
Convoluted words
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coastal views
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Humbug Mountain hiker/biker site all mine
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 3,832 miles (6,167 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0