08/24/23 Charleston to Bandon - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2023

08/24/23 Charleston to Bandon

From one state park to the next
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another easy day. I got up late, deflated mattress notwithstanding, packed up and rode the few miles back to Charleston for breakfast.  It was about 20 miles to the next campground, Bullard Beach. A few steep, but short segments, and back at sea level again. I set up camp and then rode into Bandon, a couple of miles south.  I explored the touristy parts and admired the views before returning to the campground for sandwiches and reading by the campfire.  

I’m seeing smoke in the distance, the air has that apocalyptic feel to it, but not directly on the coast. I seem to be heading towards a fire and expect it to get worse in coming days. 

Just over 4,000 miles since leaving Albuquerque
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tourist sector
Heart 0 Comment 0
Views from Bandon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
speeding thru Bandon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bandon Marsh
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ve got the Bullard Beach hiker/biker site to myself
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 3,793 miles (6,104 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0