08/03/23 Tonasket to Pateros - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2023

08/03/23 Tonasket to Pateros

Check the scale, this was basically a flat ride. With a tailwind to boot!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was on the road before 6 in a successful effort to beat the heat and maximize a promised morning tailwind. It was such an easy ride, with no hills of any note and a general downhill trend I arrived in Brewster before 1 pm.  My plan was to camp at the city RV park on the edge of town, but it being early and hot I wasn’t in a hurry to go set up. Instead I sat in the shade in a pretty riverside park near downtown Brewster. It’s basically a Hispanic downtown, with all commerce being done by and for Spanish speakers. All signs in Spanish and Spanish being the language on the street, it felt a little bit like being in a border town. I waited until 5 before heading down to the RV park only to discover that there wasn’t any accommodation for tent camping. I was offered a piece of asphalt, but told that 6 miles down the road Pateros allowed tent camping.  And indeed it does, right on the banks of the Columbia River, including showers. And if you paddle or pedal to the park, you can camp for free, so I did. 

Moon and apples
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding a scenic route
Heart 0 Comment 0
The smoke and traffic on US 97 made it not so scenic
Heart 0 Comment 0
But it had some nice sights
Heart 3 Comment 0
In the foothills of the North Cascades now
Heart 3 Comment 0
Such a contrast to what I just came through
Heart 1 Comment 0
Flying along with a tailwind
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bing cherries
Heart 1 Comment 0
Peaches
Heart 1 Comment 0
Delicious peaches
Heart 1 Comment 0
I bought it, though I could have easily picked from the trees
Heart 2 Comment 0
Parts had a hellscape feel to them. There was a big fire here in 2014
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Very Long Base Line Array is a large radio telescope of which the big antenna here is one component.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Okanogan River joins the Columbia at Brewster
Heart 2 Comment 0
An ocean of apples
Heart 1 Comment 0
Staging for the harvest
Heart 1 Comment 0
Brewster, where I did not stay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Red Delicious
Heart 1 Comment 0
The park in Brewster
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camping next to the Columbia River in Pateros
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 3,077 miles (4,952 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
George HallOver the last 2 weeks your route has essentially been the same as I rode in 2021, so it's been a trip down memory lane to follow you. I also had smoke issues and had to divert south due to road closure from forest fires. It may be too late now to be of any help to you, but here's my journal; https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/warriordeath1/
Reply to this comment
8 months ago