08/02/23 Republic to Tonasket - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2023

08/02/23 Republic to Tonasket

A scaled down version of yesterday’s ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up stiff and sore, my legs still tired. Today’s ride was half the climbing for half the distance as yesterday, but with the state of my legs it was just as sluggish.   It got hot and dry soon after I crested the pass, that and a headwind made continuing on for the day unappealing even though I got to Tonasket in the early afternoon.  I found a shady spot in a small park, bought an ice cream from the shack across the alley, and dozed and lazed under the trees for a couple of hours before deciding to take a room at the Red Apple Inn. It’s so much nicer in the air conditioning, and with old time prices it really wasn’t a difficult choice. 

A smaller climb, but still a slog
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was a fun section, nice temperature and no cars
Heart 1 Comment 0
When I see old buildings like this I think of the work it took to build it, and when and why it was left to fall apart
Heart 1 Comment 0
So it was nice to see this. It gives the what, the who, and the when but not the why
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pflug Mansion
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s a different biome on this side of the pass. Smoke is from a fire near the border, not far
Heart 1 Comment 0
Descending into Tonasket
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 3,012 miles (4,847 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0