08/01/23 Kettle Falls to Republic - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2023

08/01/23 Kettle Falls to Republic

A long, long climb
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up a minute before my alarm and was on the road before 6 am. A virtuous start to a difficult day. It was up hill from the get go, getting steeper the higher I went. Relentless grades, always up, never down for 25 long miles. I flew down the other side, so quickly I have little memory, only to meet more steep hills arriving in the vertical town of Republic.  It was definitely the most challenging day of this trip, and one that I’ll remember, if only for its endlessness. I’m so pleased with myself for recognizing that today was going to be a tough one and booking a room at the Klondike Motel with its excellent hot shower, quiet air conditioner, and nice firm bed.

I stopped to watch the lumber mill on the way out of the campground
Heart 1 Comment 0
chomp
Heart 0 Comment 0
No shoulders across the Columbia River!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I waited until it was clear and raced across, tailed closely by a patient logging truck. I couldn’t risk a glance to the side and so missed the morning golden hour view of the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped for breakfast at the gas station on the other side of the bridge and while munching my really good egg sandwich I see the start of the climb
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s up, and up. Always up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gravity felt extra strong
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh thank goodness! Not the highest, but among my toughest
Heart 3 Comment 0
A welcome sight
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pretty downhill flight
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fire recovery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty forest ride
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was going to google the deets but can’t
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dragging up the final hill to my motel at the other end of the street
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Republic. This is the only flat spot in town
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy noticed me as I was returning to my motel after dinner
Heart 2 Comment 0
and followed me
Heart 2 Comment 0
all the way
Heart 1 Comment 0
to my door
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rich FrasierLooks like he's in love! Those big deer eyes!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0