07/01/23 Walden, CO to Saratoga, WY - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2023

07/01/23 Walden, CO to Saratoga, WY

Heart 0 Comment 0

No Welcome to Wyoming sign at the border, I feel cheated.  Largely downhill all day, but with strong, unfriendly winds, so it was a slog. Strong, unfriendly winds are in the forecast for the next several days as well. I’ve been expecting this, so my head is in the right place. 

I’ll be following the American Cycling Association Trans America bike route for the next 4 days, a popular route and I’ve already met several cyclists, traveling in both directions. Eastbound Max stopped to chat but the others were so delighted with their tail winds that they flashed past with a grin and a wave.  In addition to other cycling tourists I’m also encountering my own ghost. I rode this segment 4 years ago on my Boston to San Francisco trip in whatever pre-pandemic mindset I had at the time. It’s been weird. 

I’m staying at a church in town, everyone who rides the trans American route knows about this and similar places. Free bed, shower and washer and dryer for anyone who wants it.  Fortunately there is only one other person staying here tonight, so I can skip the hostel experience. 

There’s a big Independence Day weekend celebration going on downtown. Music, dancing and general good cheer. 

Leaving Walden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Morning mist made for changing scenery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rural west
Heart 0 Comment 0
Someone approaching
Heart 0 Comment 0
Max is cycling from Washington to Cape Cod
Heart 0 Comment 0
Traffic stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Friendly cowboys
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pronghorn antelope, I believe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Things looking prosperous at the Kelly Cattle Company
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where I came from
Heart 1 Comment 0
Where I’m going
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lariats for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where I’m staying
Heart 1 Comment 0
Can’t beat free
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 1,662 miles (2,675 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0