06/30/23 Poudre Canyon to Walden - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2023

06/30/23 Poudre Canyon to Walden

Heart 0 Comment 0

It rained off and on during the night, but everything was dry by morning. It started out sunny but the clouds over the pass kept looking worse and worse, though it was dry when I got to the top. I didn’t get caught by the rain until I was well down the mountain so it wasn’t particularly treacherous, just miserable. The first time I was able to find shelter under some trees and wait it out while eating honey sandwiches. The next two times I was fully exposed and for added joy it included pea size hail. That stuff hurts!  I booked myself an overpriced motel room in Walden and took a long hot shower. Wyoming tomorrow. 

Looking cloudy at the summit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still finding snow
Heart 0 Comment 0
Last pass
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heading down the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interesting. I wonder how it’s going?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Illinois River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ouch
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Walden
Heart 1 Comment 0
Flags all along the street, the town is gearing up for a big weekend
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,594 miles (2,565 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0