07/02/23 Saratoga to Rawlins - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2023

07/02/23 Saratoga to Rawlins

Heart 0 Comment 0

There’s not a whole lot to say about today. It was a short and basically uninteresting ride, getting to Rawlins about 2 and including a long section in the I-80 shoulder. I’d booked a tent site at the Rawlins KOA, having learned my lesson at Ft. Collins. I was surprised I was able to reserve a site at the last minute, this being 4th of July weekend. Now that I’m here, and see how A b s o l u t l e y  D e a d the town is this afternoon I can only conclude that everyone has left Rawlins for more enjoyable places, this being 4th of July weekend.  

Leaving Agape House
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m imagining that road is the overland trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Turning west onto I-80 and into the wind
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rawlins, Wyoming
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rawlins KOA, home for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rawlins City Hall is in the old post office building. They don’t build small town post offices like they used to.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old Wyoming State Penitentiary was open for tours but I felt unmotivated The old prison is in town, one corner across the street from a sedate residential neighborhood and the other corner next to the current penitentiary
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought it looked cheerful
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Rawlins. Dead
Heart 0 Comment 0
Retro
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t even know where to begin!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,705 miles (2,744 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0