06/23/23 Salida to Fairplay - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2023

06/23/23 Salida to Fairplay

Uphill, but with a tailwind
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was mentally exhausting. US 285 was constantly busy, the noise of the cars overcoming everything. The road itself wasn’t bad, decent to excellent shoulder for the most part, but the non-stop traffic grew tiresome. Some aggressive drivers as well,  got both verbal and digital abuse a couple of times.  But pretty. Very pretty.  I had a stiff tailwind most of the day, which was helpful to a point. At times strong gusts would try to push me off the road or into the lane, so it wasn’t a particularly fun tailwind. Had I been going the opposite direction I think I would have stopped riding.  By the time I got to Fairplay I was frazzled and with the wind still howling decided to forget about camping in the RV park and got the last motel room in town. 

Llamas
Heart 1 Comment 0
Recently shorn llamas
Heart 0 Comment 0
A local out for a Lycra ride flagged me down to say that dirt road I just past was a nice shortcut, which it was
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colorado
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think it says “Tailwind!”
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colorado
Heart 0 Comment 0
Traffic all day! This was a particularly unpleasant section with essentially no shoulder
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to wait several minutes to get a shot without any cars
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Touching 10,000 feet elevation here. I’m pleased to find it hasn’t been too noticeable, must be gaining some fitness
Heart 1 Comment 0
My current position on the way to Englewood
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,269 miles (2,042 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0