06/24/23 Fairplay to Bailey - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2023

06/24/23 Fairplay to Bailey

Heart 0 Comment 0

I seriously overestimated how long it would take me to get to Denver, two days would have been sufficient. I decided to call it a day around 4 pm when I saw a nice spot next to the road well hidden from traffic. I could have easily gotten to edge of the city with the daylight remaining, but much easier to sleep up here than figure it out down there. There’s only 45 largely downhill miles to go so I’m well on track to getting to my hotel in Denver tomorrow.

Traffic and choppy tailwind today, same as yesterday. Noisy but enjoyable riding. My gearbox isn’t leaking anymore, I expect it’s bled out. Still runs silent and smooth, but shifting seems harder. I’m glad I’m getting this addressed now.

Water flowing off the mountains in every direction
Heart 0 Comment 0
I passed several of these. There are parallel worlds to the one I’m living in
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wild iris
Heart 1 Comment 0
Non Stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
I tried to imagine the snow fences in action
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Last pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was my “worst case” destination for today. It was only 11:30 though, and somehow that meant I should keep on going
Heart 0 Comment 0
so I did
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rocks are like silly putty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bailey Days festivities
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camping next to US 285
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,315 miles (2,116 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0