06/14/23 Farmington to Aztec - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2023

06/14/23 Farmington to Aztec

Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn’t leave Farmington until early afternoon, spending the morning tending to all sorts of things. Paid my taxes, updated the blog, managed to get a package destined to my house to be sent to me care of the post office in Durango and replaced my two plastic water bottles with insulated ones. The latter is something I’ve been fantasizing about since the time I ran dry on day 3. I can now carry 6 liters of ice cold water, plus an additional 2 more should I need it (though I try real hard to avoid routes that do).

I tried out my new hydration system on the short ride up the road to Aztec, where I visited the ruins and found a spot by the river in the RV park next door. I opted for dinner in town instead of cooking my own (not gonna lie, I’m getting tired of lentils and pasta). 

Aztec Ruins National Monument
Heart 1 Comment 0
A UNESCO World Heritage site
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nothing to do with Aztecs. Early settlers called everyone Aztecs and the name continues to stick
Heart 0 Comment 0
Built 900 years ago over a 3 year period, but we don’t really know why, what it was used for, nor why it was abandoned
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Triple walled kiva
Heart 0 Comment 0
Decorative stripe on one side. I tried to imagine the process that led to that decision
Heart 0 Comment 0
T-slot doorways are a thing
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main kiva has been reconstructed. Nobody knows for certain what the pits were used for. Nobody knows for certain what any of this was used for it seems.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Reconstructed column, exposed to reveal technique
Heart 0 Comment 0
800 year old reed mat. This was behind glass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Original ceilings. So comfortably cool inside!
Heart 0 Comment 0
In a few days the sunrise will align with this wall, on the summer solstice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Short doorways
Heart 1 Comment 0
Historic downtown Aztec
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camping with the mosquitoes by the Animas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Animas River, feeds the San Juan which feeds the Colorado
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 952 miles (1,532 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0