06/13/23 Naschitti to Farmington - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

06/13/23 Naschitti to Farmington

Got blown east
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was quiet behind the church and I slept undisturbed. I was 5 only miles south of Sheep Springs which had a gas station and headed there for breakfast and was happy to see a collection of vehicles selling breakfast items. A lot of spam based items, seems the most popular. Spam and egg burritos had sold out just as I pulled up. I had two very satisfying portions of blue corn mush.

Wind today was from the west, stiff and uncomfortable at times. By the time I reached the town of Shiprock I was questioning my original plan of looking for a place to camp north of town. For one, camping options looked slim but mostly it was the fact that the annoying side wind was a great tailwind for anyone heading east! I decided to turn right and see where it blew me, which was to the Motel 6 in Farmington where I arrived shortly after dark. That’s also when I discovered my headlight isn’t working… 

Volcanic cores starting to appear
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Breakfast crew
Heart 0 Comment 0
Topping off my devices at the Sheep Springs Sinclair
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look closely and you’ll see a house. Imagine that in your backyard
Heart 0 Comment 0
Squint real hard and I can see snow capped peaks in the distance, beyond the dust devils
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shiprock is always there, in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Posted on the side of an abandoned car wash, never finished
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sheep along the San Juan River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
George MercerA good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving. Lao Tzu
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 926 miles (1,490 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0