06/12/23 Zuni to Naschitti - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2023

06/12/23 Zuni to Naschitti

Heart 0 Comment 0


It was 32 miles to Gallup in the morning, with no breakfast options other than what I was carrying. I ate crackers and imagined pancakes later.  I found a coffee house and hung around Gallup for a few hours, updating this journal, topping off my batteries and reading the news. 

Another day of tailwinds. It makes such a difference 

I left town around 3 and headed north towards Shiprock.  This is all Navajo land, no real towns to speak of but many small communities every dozen miles or so.  Gas stations along US 491 at intervals such that I didn’t need to worry about water. Places to camp discreetly were scarce, not much vegetation and lots of fencing. I opted to pitch my tent behind a church just outside Naschitti, figuring forgiveness would be more likely should it be needed.

I didn’t expect it to be so lush south of Gallup
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one outside the post office in Vanderwagon looked possible
Heart 0 Comment 0
But it's last call ended with a bang
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Walmart of rural America
Heart 0 Comment 0
Which begs the question, which one is the least?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Gallup
Heart 0 Comment 0
Emerging north from Gallup
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Behind a church in Naschitti
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 844 miles (1,358 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0