06/15/23 Aztec to NM/CO border - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2023

06/15/23 Aztec to NM/CO border

Heart 0 Comment 0

I got word from the post office that my package (new panniers, by the way) is due to be delivered by 9 pm Saturday.  I sure hope it’s well before that. I need to be able to collect the box, repack my kit and mail the old panniers home before the post office closes at 1, otherwise I’m stuck till Monday and Durango is expensive. $70 just to camp! Hmm, I might have been a bit rash in my attempt to expedite my pannier upgrade. I’ve ordered some larger ones, not to carry more gear but to make accessing what I have easier and to lower my center of gravity. Hopefully this is a good idea, it’s one I’ve been working on since early in the trip.  Anyway, I’m parked at the Tico Time river resort about 100 yards shy of the Colorado border and will wait here until Saturday morning for the dash to the post office.

I had a good stretch of fresh pavement free of cars which ended shortly after I passed these guys
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m in a different part of New Mexico now
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting list, especially if it’s ranked
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One brother runs Tico Time, the other Tico Tokes. I’m a week early for the cannabis and reggae festival the young lass who checked me in excitedly explained
Heart 0 Comment 0
Failing to get my headlight working
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not just yet
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 17 miles (27 km)
Total: 969 miles (1,559 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0