06/08/23 Silver City to Glenwood - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2023

06/08/23 Silver City to Glenwood

Heart 0 Comment 0


I took my time leaving in the morning, with an easy downhill coast into Buckhorn planned.  I rolled into Buckhorn around 2:30 and didn’t find much to keep me there. There’s camping on the lawn behind the Last Chance Liquor, but it’s hot and windy and no place to sit except for a crusty old table in front.  It was an easy decision to continue to Glenwood, 25 miles further north, and a pretty ride it turned out. 

I grabbed a beer and a pizza at the Glenwood Tavern, the only place in town, and then pitched my tent at the free campground on the edge of town.

Leaving Silver City
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of divide riders come this way
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Someone is sad
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got a tip on how to avoid the construction outside Buckhorn by a local waiting for the pilot truck. It was a nice diversion through the cottonwoods, and popped me out at Last Chance Liquor
Heart 0 Comment 0
no traffic, fresh pavement
Heart 1 Comment 0
nice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying my dinner at the Glenwood Tavern
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 591 miles (951 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0