Day 8: Rawnsley Park to Wilpena Pound - The Welshman and the Mawson - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2021

Day 8: Rawnsley Park to Wilpena Pound

Slow down and Smell The Roses

So today was more like an active rest day for me, a quick blast from Rawnsley to Wilpena because I prefer hanging out at Wilpena...my phone signal is better (Telstra), there is more space and shade, and their shop is very well stocked with most things a camper would need. I have always found them a friendly bunch too.

I set off at a leisurely 8:30 after being woken up at dawn by my friends the Cockatoos. I think they may have followed me here.  The sky was looking good and it was warming up to the day's high of 37°C

Rawnsley Bluff looking imperial as usual
Heart 0 Comment 0
Same shot but a landscape...
Heart 1 Comment 0

Had a brief chat with a few folk, as I was once again parked outside the camp kitchen in the exact same spot...and then I was off.

No rush on rhis section, I'd been here before, so I knew what was in store. I just chilled out and enjoyed the spin.

Of course, I went past my favorite climbing crag - the majestic Moonarie. Scene of many happy memories for me, and of course the resting place of friends of mine - Simon Bou and Mike Hillan.  Of course, I gave them, and the Main Wall, a wink as I passed by.

The expanse of Moonarie cannot be experienced until you are underneath it
Heart 1 Comment 0

To be honest, nothing eventful happened on this spin...bit of a road section then some up and downs along the old Telegraph Track, then I was on the road to Wilpena.

Here are some more photos from the ride:

Heart 1 Comment 0
The other end of Moonarie...don't rhink there is too much climbing even recorded on this end 😛
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another Rawnsley Bluff shot from a different angle
Heart 0 Comment 0

Spent the rest of the day chilling out and feasting on food at Wilpena. For some reason I was craving a tuna fish salad which I managed to scrape together and just threw it all in the salad bag and ate from that...there are no pans, bowls, cuttlery in the camp kitchen. May be a covid thing though. Lots of fruit was had too. Yum!

Excited to see what tomorrow brings! I am going to end up staying up at Blinman on Wednesday night...then perhaps gor for a ride somewhere nearby the next day before a doss down somewhere near to Parachilna on Thursday night... ready for my early morning bus pickup on Friday. So I stocked up on a few food items to make this work out.

Cheers everyone 🍺

This is how they do a Pint in SA 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 km (16 miles)
Total: 712 km (442 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0