Day 6: Detours & Short Cuts - Cycling Siblings: Touring Kentucky - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2021

Day 6: Detours & Short Cuts

Cave City to Gethsemane

Day 6 was full of mishaps that added to our adventure.

I woke up refreshed and excited about riding to breakfast. Last night Peter and I decided to ride to Five Broke Girls for breakfast but, unfortunately, discovered this morning that it didn’t open until 8:00 and Peter was hoping to be on the road by 7:00.  We quickly checked for an alternative place to have breakfast which ended up being the C&J Cafe, about 3 miles away.  I had a bacon and egg on toast and Peter had the sausage, egg biscuit with fried potatoes and sweet tea, both of us were satisfied with our choices.  

Today my goal was to ride 10 miles.  Originally, I was going to have Peter call me when he was 10 miles out from our destination and I would ride out to meet him.  But with the temperature being in the high 80’s and the humidity high, we decided it would be better for me to ride in the morning.  It felt good to be back in the saddle.  It was warm and muggy this morning so riding early was a much better choice.

After leaving Peter to venture on alone, I headed back to the tepee to get my stuff together and have some quiet time to catch up on some reading.  The plan was to meet Peter in Buffalo around 12:00 EST.  As I was loading the car to leave Wigwam Village No. 2, Keith stopped by for a final chat then I was off to Buffalo.  

I met Peter at the Valero station for lunch which consisted of a pulled pork sandwich for me and a slice of pizza for Peter plus a bag of chips that we shared.  We topped off our lunch with Starbucks frappuccinos, mocha for me and carmel for Peter.  Then it was off to our final destination for the day.

I was glad to be back on the Trans American trail because all I had to do was follow the 76 signage and didn’t have to bother with the map…wrong.  I missed the first turn coming out of the Valero station but I wasn’t the only one, so did Peter.  It took me several miles to figure out I was off the trail.  There happened to be multiple ways to get to our destination but I decided not to backtrack so I took a different route that eventually worked it’s way back to the TA bike trail. 

I arrived at our destination, the Homestead at Dant Crossing, a lovely B&B, a little before 2:00.  I had a code to get into the house and our room but it didn’t work.  Fortunately, Amy Dant was around to help me get in, and made sure I got a new code.  I also had the opportunity to visit with Amy and get some history on Dant Crossing’s Homestead B&B and the Log Still Distillery.  I got settled into our room then went out on the front deck to wait for Peter.

Peter had another perfect ride and everything when smoothly until leaving Buffalo.  He made the same wrong turn that I made and ended up at Lincoln’s birth place.  He figured that, since he was at this historic place, he would see what there was to see and said he thoroughly enjoyed this detour.   Upon returning to Buffalo, Peter found a different road  which was so nice it made backtracking more bearable.  Once Peter was back in Buffalo he discovered that the Trans American bike trail sign had been flipped and that’s why we both got on the wrong road.  

Four miles from today’s destination Peter decided to take a short cut that seemed very promising.  It quickly turned into, what Peter’s cycling friends would call a PBC ride (P B C are Peter’s initials and they say it stands for “Pretty Bad Choices”).  His short cut, although it saved him 1 mile it also cost him an extra 15 minutes, this was no doubt, due to the extra long steep climb and the 1/2 mile of gravel.  Even with the extra miles, due to the backtracking and the PBC ride Peter arrived at Dant’s Crossing in his usual good mood.  

After briefly sharing his adventure with me Peter made his way to the shower, got dressed, and did some laundry.  Next on the agenda was dinner and we headed to the Stephen Foster Restaurant for their “all you can eat” buffet.  Once we were thoroughly stuff we headed back to our home for the night and finished our journal for the day.

It was another good day and we look forward to what tomorrow will bring. 

Heart 1 Comment 1
Dori MackWise decision to ride earlier.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ride to breakfast.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I always like to start my rides with something solid in my stomach…..and a little grease.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
A Civil War battle site.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Munfordville, KY
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The amber waves of grain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch in Buffalo, KY. More grease and a Frappuccino……and a coke.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And leaving Buffalo is where things when wrong. The Trans-Am sign pointed left so that’s what I did. I believe some one flip the arrow. I did call Adventure Cycling Asso. and gave them a heads up.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Dori MackProbably the people that run the Lincoln museum 😆
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This is where the detour put me…..so I went an toured Lincoln’s birth place. Thank you whoever flip the sign, because I enjoyed this little detour. I did find a neat little road that kept form doing a complete backtrack to Buffalo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Dori MackIs that the actual home or a replica? It looks so small!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Peter ChamnessTo Dori MackThe actual home.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
About 4 miles from my destination, Dant Crossing, I tried a “short cut”. It turned out to be a PBC route (my initials which my cycling friends say it stands for “Pretty Bad Choices”). Yes, monster climb and gravel, and it started out so promising. I know why it’s not on the Trans American Trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doing the wash.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bibs hanging out to dry.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Dori MackYou look relaxed!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Cousin Jim, the road is calling your name.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The nice thing about Morri having the car is that we could drive to Bardstown to eat.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All you can eat buffet. They kicked me out after a while because they said I was putting them out of business.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 291 miles (468 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0