Feb. 22nd - Ella (rest day) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 22, 2024

Feb. 22nd - Ella (rest day)

I had to switch hotels today so hung around my hotel until 11:00 waiting.  Thankfully, the guys at my new hotel, Ella Moon Rock were super accommodation and got my room ready a little early even though the previous guests didn't check out until 11:00.  A much more modern and comfortable room, with friendly owners.  Highly recommende.

Claire did the ride into town so we'd made plans to meet up later to go to the famous Nine Arches Bridge.  I headed into town to grab something to eat and ran across her sitting a restaurant.  She'd had a tough ride on back roads through the tea plantations and needed to refuel.  I ended up joining her and afterwards, we dropped her bike off at my hotel and walked up to the bridge.  Despite her ride, she cruised up the stairs no problem.  Me on the other hand, had to push a little to keep up with her.  My legs are a little tired from yesterday's ride.

The bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0

Trains cross the bridge and make for an epic photo.  The times are posted on a tree.  Lucky for us, we didn't have to wait long at a viewpoint some locals set up with chairs for a small donation.

While we were waiting, I watched this lady hack this coconut to pieces. I would have cut my hand off for she, but she was very precise with that machete! Impressive!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Choo! Choo!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Myself and Claire
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Look how tall it is!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glory was having his picture taken when another family came up and asked if their elephant could join him. Of course! 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
Checking out the other side of the bridge. Nothing out here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We had a nice walk back and unfortunately for Claire, her guesthouse is out of town up and rough and steep road.  She had to ride back.  I headed into town one more time in the evening just to check out some shops.  It's weird seeing such a touristy place after how many quieter places I have passed through.

Unfortunately, it looks like I forgot to take a picture of my more modern hotel, but goodnight.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0