Dec 28th - Vang Vieng - Blue Lagoon #1 - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 28, 2024

Dec 28th - Vang Vieng - Blue Lagoon #1

My hotel is sold out in a couple of days so I had to make a change.  Booked into Namsong Bridge Bungalows for 2 nights.  I had already been by to talk to the owner and  check it out.  It's across a pretty sketchy bridge , but on the outskirts of town, so quieter.  Okay, not really.  There are two bridges in a row and as the motorcycles drive across it makes quite a racket.  Ear plugs to the rescue!  The reveiws for the lady are incredible.  She's from the UK and lives here with her daughter.  Super nice lady!

The only problem with having to switch hotels is the wait between checking out of one and when you are allowed to check into the other.  She enforced the 2:00 check in.  Well, she said she'd let me know if it was clean earlier, but never heard from here.  Kind of lost a day waiting around, but enjoyed the view from the seating area of my hotel.

Once I dropped off my stuff, I decided ride my bike out to Blue Lagoon #1.  She erroneously told me there was no swimming.  Ummm, it's the most popular one for swimming.  Kind of annoyed as I wasn't prepared based on her info.  There's a cave here too, but I didn't feel like climbing the steps and renting a headlight.  Plenty more caves to see.

Great bike ride!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Blue Lagoon #1
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jumping platform. All the Asians were jumping while wearing their life jackets
Heart 1 Comment 0
What in the heck? They are wiggling!! 😯
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't know if they are grubs or worms, but cooked and skewered, I'm still not eating them! 🤮
Heart 0 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonHow disgusting!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Let's return to pleasant scenery!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made one detour down a dirt road to check out some viewpoint.  It was late in the afternoon, and I needed to get back before dark.  Besides, they also wanted me to pay to climb for about an hour through the jungle.  I'll wait.  😉 Just fun to be out exploring a little on my bike.

The night market is closer to me now, so after resting a bit, decided to go check it out.  Tonight's the night I also discovered coconut pancakes.  Not sure if it's a dessert or a meal, but they were little mini pancakes and delicious.

And a cute, friendly kitten at my accommodation
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 13 miles (21 km)
Total: 354 miles (570 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0