Dec. 26th - Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng (via minivan) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 26, 2023

Dec. 26th - Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng (via minivan)

First of all, Happy New Year!!  Yes, I'm behind on this journal, but don't worry.  I've been hanging out in Vang Vieng really having a great time exploring!  But, how'd I get here....

I knew the mountains ahead were beyond my capabilities -- even if it was🙄 later on this bike tour and I was more fit.  Too much climbing, too steep of sections, remote, and a road in really poor condition.  I'm no fool! 😂 I'm here to have an enjoyable bike tour and really see the countries.   Yes, I will be challenged at times, but this isn't one of those challenges that would make any sense especially with limited accommodation options.  Instead, I opted to pay for a minivan and my hotel helped me book it.  Total price was $480,000 kip which included $200,000 for my bike and whatever commission the hotel earns.  Pick up was around 8:00am.  It is worth noting that everyone seemed to pay a different price for the minivan. 🙄

What I adhn't realized until a couple of days ago was that even though Vang Vieng is only 110 miles (180 kms) away, the journey takes about 4.5 hours.  Our journey was more like 6.5 hours!  Thats how bad the road conditions were, plus we had a lunch stop.

I was one of the first pickups.  The guy indicated I should sit in the second row even though the first row was empty.  I started to go there and saw how little leg room there was.  Nope, ain't happening.   I insisted I was sitting in the front row, and I did.  I later learned that you could reserve seats on the mini-van which is why I wasn't supposed to sit in that row, but it all worked out.  The two ladies next to me were in a group of four from Thailand and we had a lovely conversation throughout.

Could be worse. Could be stuck with this "seat"
Heart 0 Comment 0

The guy drives this road daily and drives like a maniac.  Taking the curves way too fast and starting and stopping too fast.  I quickly started to get nauseous, but in anticipation had Dramamine with me which I promptly took, and I was okay the rest of the trip.  It also helped that our minivan was likely overloaded so later he had to chug up and down the hills.  The slower pace meant no more driving like Mario Andretti!  And yes, this would have been a huge mistake for me to cycle.  Even the downhills in sections were treacherous with sharp curves and torn up road.  I made the right decision, and I enjoyed the spectacular scenery from a car.

At one point, the driver loaded some heavy bags on top of my bike which was on the roof with everyone's luggage.   In general, he just positioned it poorly multiple times.  Don't you worry, I kept on top of it and knowing I was the only one who paid extra for my "luggage" and knowing there would be a lot of bouncing on the road, I asked him to fix it.  I can't afford to have something broken while in Laos with minimal bike shops.

We arrived at the bus station in Vang Vieng and I biked to The Chill House Hostel where I thought I might stay.  My bike had to stay outside, but it actually seemed pretty secure with cameras and 24 hour staff.  Still, I thought I'd go check out a couple of hotels I had my eye on.  I ended up getting a referral to a different one (The Domon Riverside Hotel).  The guys were super friendly.  I couldn't quite get a mountainside view, but I got a room I could roll my bike into and when I stepped outside my door, this was my view...

Sometimes it pays to check out different hotel options - like today!!!
Heart 2 Comment 0

And now I'm in Vang Vieng until likely New Years.  There are quite a few adventurous activities to partake in.  My kind of place!

Night
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 341 miles (549 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0