Dec. 20th - Luang Prabang - spent a week here - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2023

Dec. 20th - Luang Prabang - spent a week here

I spent a week in Luang Prabang.  In part, because I had a cold and was trying to keep it from getting worse/recover and in part, because LP is a cool place to hang out.  I switched over to a hotel late this morning and insisted my bike come in the room.  The room was fantastic except for the extra firm bed.  Not great.  I even pulled out my air mattress which did help but didn't have it inflated to a good setting so didn't help as much as it should have.

I was in the trendy part of old town (it's a UNESCO World Heritage site) but all those cute little restaurants and bakeries aren't so fun when you are sitting in them by yourself.  Mind you, I only got takeaway and usually frequented the night market food stalls.

Decked out for Christmas
Heart 2 Comment 0
Villa Oudomlith Hotel with the amazing can help you with anything host, Tom
Heart 1 Comment 0
A brief wander around the neighborhood
Heart 1 Comment 0
Boo!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Flashback: this bill was rejected by Laos immigration because of that black ink blot
Heart 0 Comment 0
My zero coke dealer next to my first hotel. He actually asked me how much longer I would be in town so he knew whether to order more or not 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
The banana pancakes were delicious
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonThat looks delicious!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I did go to the UXO Museum which was quite fascinating in a sad sort of way.  Still so many unexploded bombs left over from the Vietnam war and it's the locals who pay the price.  After that, now I know why the US government advised one to only stay on well-traveled roads and path.  There is an ongoing effort to make areas safe, but it's a tedious, dangerous, and time consuming process.

Lots of info for those interested. Otherwise, keep scrolling, but I wanted these in my blog
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I happened across a couple of more hotels on that excursion so checked them out.  I ended up switching over to The Elephant Botique Hotel which had a more comfy bed.  It was located in the more local and central part of the city and as an added bonus, it was close to a pretty modern supermarket.  That made me very happy!

Amazing view to the mountains I will NOT be cycling over (hee, hee hee)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Four people on a scooter. No problem!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I thought I was ordering noodles with barbeque pork on top. Not a soup. It was edible, but a little spicy for me (doesn't take much)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Elephant Boutique Hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sometimes I take pictures of puppies too.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On Christmas day, I biked out to a waterfall.  It was so amazing, it will get it's own journal page.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0