October 23rd - Taiwan Lockdown - CycleBlaze

October 23, 2023

October 23rd

Climb south of Longtan

 The past couple of weekends have been a bit wet over on the east coast, so my plan to explore the area has been delayed, but my Canadian friend g says he likes the idea of cycling with me and has some free time early in November, so that has been pencilled in my diary. 

 The trip will include a lot of serious climbing, something that I haven't done in almost a year, so today I opt to head toward a decent climb that'll give me a workout. It's just south of Longtan.

Shed not far from home
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wall on the edge of Longtan
Heart 2 Comment 0

 Instead of going into town, my route skirts the place and I reach highway 3. It's a wide strip but has a shoulder and traffic isn't too bad. 

 A temple is tucked away off the road and group of young men dressed up as dieties or whatever are heading down its steep concrete approach road towards a small truck. With their elaborate face paint, it's hard to gauge their actual expressions, but taking a few snaps seems OK. 

 The highway rises gradually for a while and by the time I reach a couple of convenience stores, I'm ready to stop for a breather. It's almost 30 and my clothing is damp with sweat. There's a FamilyMart and a HI-Life - I choose the first and get a table outside. After this place, there's a long winding drop, then the testing climb begins.

Riding towards highway 3
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Something drying beside the 3
Heart 2 Comment 0
Coffee from a FamilyMart convenience store
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

 The drop is really nice. It's a quiet road that serves farms. After crossing over a valley road running roughly east-west, the lane heads up into the hills that are covered in green. The ridge is along way off, but now and then it comes into view. It's not a good idea looking up at it, as it just makes the ride seem even more difficult, but I can't help it.

 Not stopping is not really an option in this heat and I decide to pause at a concrete gazebo on one of the sharp bends, providing that nobody is already sat there. I prefer to be alone. 

 It appears in the distance, sticking up on the horizon, and my luck is in, so I chill out for a few minutes in its shade. No traffic comes by in that time. Terraced fields of tea surround me. 

Cooling off on the climb in a gazebo
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wall
Heart 2 Comment 0

 The steepest part is close to the ridge and I have to stop to wipe my face as sweat is stinging my eyes. I reckon it's 25 percent here and there's little shade. It feels like its 30°C. It's been a real test.

 There's a traditional, squat shop at the very end of the ridge section of road just where it T's into a busier route. The shop owner turns out to be an elderly lady and has likely had the place for decades. It doesn't appear to have changed much in that time. 

 I get a cold bottle from the tall fridge and sit on a wooden bench outside and down the contents as she asks me a few questions about things like where I'm going.  It's hard to say what her takings are each day, but it'll be little, but she's a kind soul and wishes me well when I pedal off back towards Longtan and then home.

Having another drink at the top
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shop owner
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 3,280 km (2,037 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0