Tentative Normalcy - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2022

Tentative Normalcy

The weather has been gorgeous the last few days.  The bike riding around has definitely helped.  Combined with eating less, I've started chipping away at the lockdown weight gain.    

These days I'm thrilled to see any signs of congestion or crowds
Heart 1 Comment 0
People lining up at the bank. I later found out they're drawing their pensions and need to access the backlog.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Closed but open with a hole for business
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

What can I say, it was 9 days of freedom.  It turns out the city is going back into a partial lockdown again.  I was literally gutted to find out about this and basically lost my appetite.  Thanks to my wife's help and trying to get as much accurate information as possible, I felt a little better and was able to digest food.  But I still couldn't sleep at night.  Make no mistake about it, we were all traumatized from the last lockdown and have zero trust in the government based on how they lost all credibility from their changing the goalposts last time.

So they *say* this time each district is doing a round of mass PCR test screening on the weekend and will release all the compounds when the results come in.  Right away I didn't believe it and started preparing for the worst.  The first clue something was amiss is that the city spent all this time and money installing covid test booths on nearly every street corner.  They  also installed location QR codes you scan at businesses, and need a test every 3 days to enter.  

What started all this was a hair salon cluster with the employees testing positive.  They did not do the daily PCR test screening and had served well over 400 customers since June 1 "freedom day".  The only hope (there's that word again) is that the low case counts citywide are really much lower than in March.  Otherwise, it seems that we're watching a re-run of the same horror movie play out.

Today's ride: 14 km (9 miles)
Total: 175 km (109 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Lednar De NallohGee whiz, I think I would have gone 'stir crazy' by now, Kudos to you. In Western Australia we fought for Zero Covid and admitted defeat about half a year ago but by then 95% vaccinated. I'd have been on a plane out of there by now. Good luck.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago