Day L18: Can I See the Sun? - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

Day L18: Can I See the Sun?

Bang bang bang!  Time for your covid test!   I was awoken from my afternoon nap while trying to recover from more lost sleep, but at this point I didn't care anymore.  Like a zombie I did the test procedures.

On the way back, another expat was seen basking in the sun.  My wife had chatted to him earlier and it turns out for weeks now he hadn't received a scrap of food rations!  I was horrified.  He must have been surviving the same way as we were, but even worse we didn't even know he existed until now.  He never mentioned anything about doing covert grocery runs at night or trying to gain access to the chat groups for compound bulk-buys.  Surely he was excluded from those and the government handouts just like we were earlier.  He just didn't know what to do.  To be fair I wouldn't have a clue either if I was in his position.

My wife found a way to add him to our circle.  Earlier, she had contacted someone in those sacred chat groups who was willing to buy excess food and quietly sell to us evil foreigners.  And she also did more ordering from the covert grocery store at night.  It seems our supplier finally got back.

At that point I introduced myself and joined in the chat, then this guy said something both beautiful and sad at the same time.

He said, "This is the only time I can see the sun when we do these covid tests.  My window faces the hallway, and so all day long it's dark and I have no idea where the sun is."   He also said to her, "You are the sunshine in my life today."   

Heart 0 Comment 0

How beautiful we could save someone's life from this misery, yet this was beyond injustice. All the pieces of the puzzle fit together to reveal the barbaric inhumanity and suffering that this whole thing is culminating towards.  For all we know, this poor soul had been languishing in his apartment for days on end teaching drama online to his students without any food.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI might be injecting more imagination into this than reality, but dots seem to be connecting... With all the emphasis on health (covid) there seems little or no recognition of survival by those in charge. The bigger picture might be a push to make the old and infirm die off due to the stresses and ease up medical (political/financial) pressures that they introduce into the system, but that's merely wild speculation in an era of much fringe thinking.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Fit SteveTo Bill ShaneyfeltIt's an interesting theory. Actually all this makes the healthy people suffer on purpose by depriving them of proper nutrition, exercise, vitamin D, and rest among other things. Prolonged suffering in these stay-at-home lockdowns will wear down the natural immunity of healthy people and leave them more susceptible to catching covid. As for why they are doing this, I don't know. The elderly are mainly unvaccinated and these lockdown measures primarily help them, otherwise there really would be hundreds of deaths per day (mostly co-morbidities). So they're trying to save the elderly who didn't get a vaccine while also killing those like us who did
Reply to this comment
2 years ago