Finally, To The Seashore - Coast2Coast - CycleBlaze

November 23, 2021

Finally, To The Seashore

With only 22 miles to go, I began to wonder if "tomorrow" would ever come.  We had outstanding weather through the first 4.5 days but it would be a stretch of rain over four days before I could get back on the trail and successful complete this adventure.

We headed out on the morning of Tuesday, 11/23 to a cool blustery day with beautiful skies.  The paved 9 miles into Titusville was a pleasure.

Most of the trail into Titusville was well screened and peaceful.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Once into Titusville, I did a brief road ride to get to the Max Brewer Bridge.  I was headed right into the wind and was wondering what it would be like on the bridge.  About midway up the incline, I removed my sunglasses out of concern they would be blown off my face.  It was pretty wild but not wild enough to prevent me from stopping at the bridge's high point to get a picture looking south down the Indian River / Intercoastal Waterway.

Gorgeous but WINDY
Heart 1 Comment 0

Once over the bridge I quickly and thankfully entered the Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge.  With a variety of trees and vegetation, the wind became much more manageable contributing to a very enjoyable ride.

Merritt Island Refuge with the Kennedy Space Center Vehicle Assembly Building in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0

With about 5.5 miles to go, I entered the Canaveral National Seashore.

Enough said
Heart 0 Comment 0

5.5 miles down a very quiet road, I pulled into Playalinda Beach, the end of a very memorable adventure.

Great day to conclude this adventure.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 264 miles (425 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0