Day 9: Radford to Radford: Rest day #1/Roaming Gnome takes a Fast Forward - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2006

Day 9: Radford to Radford: Rest day #1/Roaming Gnome takes a Fast Forward

Yesterday my body was telling me I need a day off, so today's the day. I woke up in the camper and said to myself, "I'm not going anywhere today". And I'm not. Had thought about doing one more day to Wytheville and resting there, but the Lees have been so open and hospitable, and having our own space in the RV last night was great, so I'm staying here. Their RV and home are way better than any public park or cheap motel up the road. Besides, I'm behind on the website and need a few hours online.

Cristey and Geoff are headed to Wytheville today. Both are tempted to take the route 11 shortcut and stay north to miss Damascus, but I think I'm going to stay on route and go see Damascus. I know it's more climing, but that's not going to go away with one day of shortcutting. Besides, that route is supposed to be beautiful--route 11 follows the interstate for a whole day. Cristey said she's better with just doing shorter days than whole rest days, so I'll catch her in a day or two--depends if she decides to take a day off in Wytheville. We've decided it works best to just ride our own pace during the day anyway and plan to stay in the same spot at night. Then I get to talk to more people, and she gets done with her day faster without waiting for me to look at stuff, take pictures, and keep taking clothes on and off depending on the temperature. We can check in with our phones as needed, too.

I also need to do some much-needed bike cleaning today--with all the wet weather, the chain needs attention. So today is an eat, write, and clean day. And maybe a nap. And pet the dogs and cats. I hope the day off will give me a little more zip in my legs. I've been getting the miles done and don't feel too sore, but it's taking me forever to get anywhere and I've been getting into camp later than I'd like to. Oh well. At least we made it through the first of 12 maps yesterday.

Sam, Sarah, and Thad Lee
Heart 1 Comment 0
Smokey cat...like most of the diners I go into in this state!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Olive, the normal sized chocolate lab standing on a step just 4" below Samson, a giant doberman. I think his head and my head were about the same size!
Heart 0 Comment 0

EVENING UPDATE

Well, Cristey called tonight to give me an update. I thought she'd be at Wytheville or a little past, but she called to tell me she was on a bus to Denver. She said she wasn't having fun here and wanted to get out to see the West, so that's what she's doing. And she's tired of hills, so ... I guess she hitched a ride to a Greyhound station, bought a ticket, found someone at a truck stop to help her box the bike, and is on her way to more mountains.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0