Day 80: Prairie City to Dayville - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2006

Day 80: Prairie City to Dayville

Today was an easy downhill day, but I was still up and out early. Stopped for a snack and some supplies at a grocery store in John Day (everything around here is named for this guy), grabbed a quick Pepsi in Mount Vernon, and headed on for the rest of my miles. Alvin caught up with me just as I was coming out of a field (bathroom break), and we rode together for a while until he pulled into a ranger station of some sort to see what they knew of the fire.

Rattlesnake Ridge (I think) near the John Day fossil beds
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I got to the church at Dayville, the three Germans were there taking the day off. They'd been trying to find fire info as well, assisted by the church's slow computer. I didn't mess with too much email even though I knew once the rest of the group started filtering in I wouldn't have much of a chance to check again. I'm ignoring all the school-related emails that are starting to come in and want to enjoy the last few days of the trip without that distraction.

Stained glass at the Dayville church--check out the bike!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Alvin and I headed for lunch at a local establishment with the absolute worst service I've encountered the entire trip (and maybe my entire life). Alvin was ready to leave, but there weren't any other options in town and I didn't want to cook. I literally had to get up and tap the waitress on the shoulder after 10 minutes to get her to take our order. And it went downhill from there, but the hamburger was the best of the trip (everything tastes better when you're hungry, though). We each left a nickel tip.

Jacques' last nap ...
Heart 1 Comment 0

Alvin went off doing errands somewhere. Jacques was supposed to cook, but I couldn't let him cook on his last day, so I took over his duties. Shopping was easy because his friend took us in his car. We went just outside of town to see the fossil beds first, but it was windy and I didn't really care about fossils so while it was pretty, I wasn't terribly impressed. Jacques' friend, however, kept saying how he thought it was even more beautiful than the Grand Canyon. To each his own, I guess.

Jacques' friend Jean-Pierre took us to see the fossil beds from an overlook. He was really impressed with the view...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jean-Pierre, Alvin, and Jacques at the overlook
Heart 0 Comment 0

Meanwhile, Patrick and Toni finally came riding in. Toni had decided that the short mileage and downhill grade meant she could do a 'Patrick day': sleep in, eat out, ride slow, and get to camp just before dinner.

Toni beaming at the completion of her "Patrick Day." She did his normal schedule of sleeping in, eating out, and getting to camp just before dinner.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Alvin and I ended up cooking spaghetti, followed by a mass map meeting of the AC group, the Germans, and me to figure out the fire situation. I'd found some moving companies online that we thought we might have to call to get ourselves and our bikes around the fire. I have to think about this. I know the AC group has a tighter schedule than I do, but a 200+ mile detour doesn't sound like much fun either. Guess I'll just wait and see.

Jacques triumphantly poses with his bike while taking it apart for transport to Portland with his friends Jean-Pierre and Elizabeth
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacques was supposed to cook today, but I couldn't let the poor guy cook on his last night, so as his geisha, I stepped in.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At least Jacques doesn't have to worry about the fire. He'll be on his way to an airport in the morning since his visa is about to expire. Before bed, I told the Germans that the people who'd set up tents next to theirs were known snorers, so they moved. I slept inside instead of setting up a tent (that efficiency thing again). I'm kinda worried about the mileage tomorrow and all the climbs and only one major service stop, so I'm getting up early tomorrow.

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 4,075 miles (6,558 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0