Day 69: Darby to Almost Missoula - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2006

Day 69: Darby to Almost Missoula

Farewell Bud and Shirley Motel...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Meg, if this pig wouldn't have been giant and expensive, I would have gotten it for your deck. Hey, it's the thought that counts, right?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Richard leaving town with a log truck
Heart 1 Comment 0

Amazing how quickly moods and perceived ability change on this trip. Two days ago I was really struggling. Yesterday I was flying high. Today I'm just dragging. Didn't take many pics either, but the day ended well with good food, a bed, computer time, and great company.

I always seem to leave later when I stay in a hotel and I had no idea where any of the group was until Alvin caught up with me near a campground where I stopped for OJ, cookies, and a Missoula map. I thought the cookies would help with my lack of energy and pensive mood, but it didn't really do me much good as I slogged on. I didn't really know what my problem was, but I just wasn't into the biking thing at all. Alvin tried to be helpful and made me stop for a hug, which helped a little, but my head wasn't anywhere near the bike today. We had lunch at a little café (formerly a church) in Corvallis before Alvin finally took off and left me to slog along alone. The food made me feel a little better, but there was no pie. Sad.

15 more miles brought me to Stevensville. There wasn't much to catch my interest there, and I got some really awful energy drink from a convenience store where Alvin once again appeared. His group didn't have the route correction showing the bike path extension along highway 93, so we parted ways. My way was shorter by 3 miles, but even then, I figured he'd get way ahead of me. This bike path was better than the one into Hamilton earlier in the day, and I stopped yet again in Florence. I stopped everywhere today! Guess I didn't have too much motivation, but my hosts for the night weren't going to be home until early evening anyway, so I didn't see any point in pushing it. At my stop in Florence, Alvin looped through to tell me who was out on the old route and then took off as Ron pulled in.

Ron must not have been moving to fast either, because I caught up with him at the next convenience store in Lolo. It was good to get to know him a little better. I like Ron. He's one of those 'still waters run deep' sort of personality that I'd like to know better. He asked me about how I was getting people to adopt me along the route and how I made sure I was safe when doing that. But eventually, he took off. He had more miles to finish than I did, so I went back in the store for more snacks and drinks.

When I finally left, I met Robbie and Amy, a couple making their way EB across the country. I eventually made it to Craig and Sherri's (fellow crazyguys who contacted me through my guestbook) around 5:15, just a few minutes before Sherri got home from work and just after I saw that their dog had pooped on the basement floor. Sherri showed me to my room and the much-needed shower and started on dinner. They even got Pepsi for me!!! They're vegetarian and really healthy, so I'm sure they usually don't buy pop but it made me feel special! And at this point in the trip, any food with more than 2-3 ingredients tastes great. The rice, beans, and yams mix was spicy enough to clear out my sinuses but good enough that I had it for second breakfast the next day.

Laundry and beer on the deck overlooking the mountains followed, and I took advantage of their unlimited computer access and stayed up until midnight uploading photos and such. I wasn't leaving Missoula until I had my online life mostly caught up, so I really appreciated the time.

Craig and Sherri, my wonderful hosts for the evening!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 3,515 miles (5,657 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0