Day 48: Estes to Pueblo to Lake Pueblo State Park - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2006

Day 48: Estes to Pueblo to Lake Pueblo State Park

Don and Marilyn, our wonderful Estes Park hosts
Heart 1 Comment 0
Long's Peak from the deck of our hosts...oh yeah...me and my mom, too
Heart 2 Comment 0

We packed up and drove out of the mountains back toward Denver, where my poor mom was going to have to wait a few hours for her flight (note: she ended up being there WAY longer than planned when her flight was delayed.

Back in Pueblo, trading my vehicles...
Heart 1 Comment 0

I made it back to Pueblo, sad to give up the car's radio and a/c and not feeling mentally into the biking game. But there was nothing to do but return the car and hop on the bike for the short trip to Pueblo Lake State Park.

Hello! These guys were all over the ditches leading into Pueblo
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was dragging through the downtown area, though, and not feeling really great, so I stopped for a frozen Cherry Limeade somewhere along the line. Stopped at the edge of town for a bunch of cold water and Gatorade. Stopped again when my raincover flapped off a pannier from me putting a big tub o' water in the outside pocket. Stopped when bird pooped on me (again). And finally made it to the park. I was glad I'd been there before made it easier to find things. No one was there to take my camping money, so I just picked a site. I didn't have correct change for putting money in the tube, either, so I didn't.

Pooped on again...this is getting personal
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've been down this road a time or two...but the last 4 times were in my car helping the group with groceries a few days ago. Now I'm all alone :(
Heart 0 Comment 0

Having taken one when I was here a few days ago, I knew the showers were good. I needed a good shower. And while I was cleaning up dishes from dinner (ok I was just washing my spoon and rinsing my jet boil), a lady in the bathroom started asking about my trip and invited me over to her for a beer. Ends up there were two older couples who camp together often, and they were incredulous that I'd have to pay the same amount for a site that they did, so they told me to just set up on their site. So while they were eating, I retrieved my gear and planted it on their site.

These were people of an obviously different social class discussing the disgusting amount of money they had to pay to get their Rolex fixed, etc. But they drank cheap beer and were interested in my work as a grad student, so it all worked out in the end. And their dog liked me, so I was a shoe-in for special treatment.

Sunset at the state park
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 2,330 miles (3,750 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0