Day 14: Breaks to Pippa Passes: Joy is a dirty, tired, hungry puppy - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2006

Day 14: Breaks to Pippa Passes: Joy is a dirty, tired, hungry puppy

I came in dirty, tired, and hungry...Now I'm just tired, so I'm going to bed.

later...

Tough day, no doubt about it. I got a little bit of a late start since it was only about 40 degrees in the morning (hard to get out of a sleeping bag when it's that cold) and since I wanted to look around Breaks and get my money's worth on the campsite we couldn't share (not that I'm bitter about that--it was only $9, but I'm kind of a cheapskate on this trip about things like that).

View at Breaks
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then out to state #2. Between the state line and the welcome sign, Kentucky welcomed me with a bellowing German shepherd and two coal trucks. What an appropriate welcome!

Is this the Kentucky Welcome Wagon?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a stop at the tomb of an unknown confederate soldier, I went into a strange little grocery store/flea market/ perpetual garage sale place around Hellier where I saw a wheel that "might" have worked for Jonathan if he was desperate, but I didn't have a signal and couldn't call them.

Unknown confederate soldier's grave
Heart 0 Comment 0
Strange little store--groceries (sort of), flea market, garage sale all in one
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lookout!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then on, it was just a long grind to Pippa with coal trucks for company part of the way. I would say I was racing the sunset, but I don't think a turtle-pace can be called racing, and I made it in sometime around 7:30 to the hostel. I didn't know how early Ben and Jonathan had left, but I was betting they wouldn't make it in before dark.

Also saw Topmost Baptist later in the day--see how the other half lives, I guess
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coal operation
Heart 1 Comment 0
Which way am I going?
Heart 1 Comment 0

The proprietors just pointed me in the general direction of things and let me be. I guess I was expecting a little warmer welcome, but they see bikers all the time and probably had their own things to do. The cats were excited for some attention, though, and rubbed all over me while I waited on the porch for my food delivery from the cafe down the hill (down...which is why I let them deliver so I didn't have to come back UP!). Watched the weather channel forecast rain for the next day as I ate my pile of spaghetti from a foil pie-pan.

Took a shower... it was cramped and didn't drain right, so it was kind of gross. Attempted to organize my stuff for morning, gave up, and crashed into bed in the basement of the hostel.

Pippa Passes hostel
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 625 miles (1,006 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0