Beginning at Brown County - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

April 18, 2006

Beginning at Brown County

Brown County State Park to Brown County State Park

1.18 miles. That's how far I got before I had to walk my first hill--well, part of it anyway. And then when it wasn't so steep, I couldn't balance the bike long enough to get it going again. Well, I did want to practice starting on hills--guess I have to remember to shift to a harder gear before I hop off. At least I didn't go backwards. I've had dreams about going so slow I end up going backwards in the Appalachians. It was a hill I could have probably made unloaded, so I've decided I'm just going to ride across the country naked. And no tent. Just my amazing tyvek tarp/bivy/toga. Yeah, that's it...a tyvek toga.

[May I direct your attention to Guestbook entry #49 where Howard told me the following: "You're right about Brown County State park. The Pan-Am games road race was there in 1987, and it was amazing to see how many guys dropped out of the race. Even the really good climbers were thoroughly toasted by the 2nd or 3rd lap." So there. I'm not such a wimp after all!]
The killer hill
Heart 2 Comment 0

I left my car at Abe Martin Lodge in Brown County State Park around 7:30 p.m., thankful that Indiana had moved to daylight savings time, giving me enough time to unload there and ride the miles to the campground. The final closing of the trunk, after checking four times to make sure I had my keys, was a bit ominous...THUD. Whatever I have with me is all I've got for the next few days. I guess my car's only 5 miles away as I write this (and DOWN the big steep hill), but I don't want to chicken out now. I've got my route for the next three days highlighted on gazateer pages. Not huge miles, but enough to be challenging with some of these hills. And with time to do a little work, too.

Bike at sunset on the killer hill (basically, I was wasting time taking pictures while trying to catch my breath...)
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is the only time I've seen this park with so few people. There's a raccoon outside, though. Hope he's not too friendly tonight... Other than that, just one couple in this camping loop. Usually the place is packed and has a two night minimum on reservations. Ha! I just remembered this loop is called Raccoon Ridge. That's great.

Off to Starve Hollow via Story Inn tomorrow. A couple more hills like that and the bike and I will be longing for Kansas.

Heart 1 Comment 0

4.26 miles, 7.8 avg, 32:18 pedal time

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0