Cataract Falls, McCormack, Bloomington, and Bedford - Riding in Circles - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2020

Cataract Falls, McCormack, Bloomington, and Bedford

Day 7 : Wed Oct 7

Amity, IN - Bedford, IN

Distance: 75 miles

Weather: 56 in am, 84 high, sunny

Woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed at 5 am this morning.  Packed everything up and was on the road by 6 am.  I rode the entire 10 miles to Cataract Falls Recreation Area before the sun came up.  When I got there I literally had the park to myself.  

Entrance sign to Cataract Falls
Heart 3 Comment 0

Cataract Falls is Indiana's largest waterfall.  When I first entered the park I noticed a large covered bridge. 

Covered bridge at Cataract Falls
Heart 1 Comment 0

The waterfalls at Cataract Falls NRA are divided into upper and lower falls.  Both are beautiful.

Upper Falls
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lower Falls
Heart 1 Comment 0

  I spent 3 hours in the park. 
Then I rode to McCormick State Park; Indiana's oldest park. 

McCormack Creek Park sign
Heart 0 Comment 0

 The park is huge and has an inn, swimming pool, nature center, etc... I felt like I was in a National Park with all the various amenities offered in the Park.  Then I rode to Bloomington where I had an afternoon Thai food meal.  Bloomington, the home to Indiana University, has a city like feel.  Last I rode to Bedford.  Bedford is essentially the gateway town to Hoosier National Forest.
The terrain I rode through today is hilly and mostly forests.  It's much different here than the flat land farms of northern Indiana. 
I'm currently camped in Murray Park in Bedford.  In the morning I hope to visit the  Hoosier Ntl Forest Headquarters in Bedford and then i plan to take a couple days camping in the Ntl Forest. 

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 412 miles (663 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0