W4: 凯莉 - China Blues - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2020

W4: 凯莉

I'm reasonably certain that the hotel I stayed at the last time I was in Kaili is still there. Not 100% sure but at least 99.9% sure. Unlike the hotel I stayed at the last time I was in Rongjiang, it not only shows up on Maps, it shows up with prices and online booking capabilities.

However, the owner of the bike shop has a friend who recently opened a hostel and even if Kaili in 2012 remains one of my easiest and funniest stories of "that time the hotel called the police to see if I could stay", I will always pick a place which is owned by someone in the biking community or one of their friends. Even if my bike is staying overnight at the bike shop, the amount of hassle which is negated by staying somewhere where I'm a friend of a friend (of a friend of a friend) means that that's what I'm going to do.

I feel like the hotel probably would have a been a bit more comfortable as the hostel had hostel beds (the color coordinated organic cotton version of truck stop beds), and my photos from 2012 show that - at least 8 years ago - the hotel had actual bath tubs. However, without staying both places in 2020, I can't say for sure if it actually would be. After all, the revisit to my formerly favorite cheap hotel in Wuzhishan way back at the beginning of this trip led to the discovery that specific features which had part of what made the hotel desirable were no longer around.

I planning to mostly be proofreading today with a little bit of translation. I've had the proofreading in my pile for a few days now but didn't have a deadline and was waiting until a suitably cold and rainy day to do it. However, the government person who is also working on the same project as me apparently finished his currently outstanding pile of tasks and started in on the proofreading so now what I've got is mostly translation and updating this journal and going to the Post Office to pick up my new shoes and to mail my ballot.

I'd like to also make it a laundry day but the weather is so cold and wet that, without a clothes dryer or heat, I don't see any chance of anything successfully drip drying by the time I'm going to want to put it back in my bags.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0