Beyond The Boundaries Of The Cheese Wedge - CHEESY RIDER - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2022

Beyond The Boundaries Of The Cheese Wedge

Waukesha, Wisconsin

I did something kind of risky this morning.  I fired up my stove and made coffee in the vestibule of my tent.  They say you're not supposed to do that, first because you might send the whole tent up in flames, and second because of the carbon monoxide fumes.  Don't worry, I was very careful.

Then I donned my raingear, loaded up my panniers inside the tent, ran outside to attach them to Son of Bing Bong, took down the tent, packed it up soaking wet, and started riding out of the campground.  An owl hooted to say goodbye.

It was a fun day, as they all are on a bike tour--no matter the conditions.  The Glacial Drumlin Trail was a little spongy in places, but overall the water drains pretty well off of the crushed limestone.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Wish you were here!
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Conditions improved as the day went on.  I saw two deer, several bluebirds, lots and lots of waterfowl, a woodchuck, and quite a few suicidal chipmunks racing across the trail right in front of me.  Until I got within a couple miles of the terminus, located in the larger city of Waukesha, I saw exactly zero cyclists.

For the most part, the trail looked a lot like it did yesterday, and so did the scenery around it.  Therefore, I don't have a whole lot of pictures to share.  Still, I've got a few.

Heart 7 Comment 0

 

I got photo-bombed by a goose in this picture of a glacial swamp. Some of those swamps extend as far as the eye can see.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There's the culprit.
Heart 6 Comment 0
G-2 and Son of Bing Bong took a nap in front of a big field of corn sprouts.
Heart 2 Comment 0

That brings me to Waukesha--the city in which some nutjob drove his SUV straight into a Christmas parade, killing six people and injuring another 60.  I had a very sad feeling as I rode my bike up the city's main street, and it remained with me for the last few miles to my motel.

Somewhere near here is where the tragedy occured.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The historic Waukesha County Courthouse.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 275 miles (443 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0