The Beautiful Pacific - The Beautiful Pacific - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2019

The Beautiful Pacific

Seattle to Rochester

Florida to Tennessee to Seattle 

Tying up loose ends prior to leaving for Seattle. With all anticipation, prayer and honestly a little worry about stuff God already has in His hands, I begin my final prep to tour for two months.

 I work my final day in the salt mines aka Landscaping in Florida. My son Mick and I pack up our belongings into Frankie my travel trailer, move it all into storage at Lake Talquin with the help of a friend with a truck.  Mick, soon to be 27, has set off on an adventure of his own. We say our goodbyes with intentions to meet Monday, July 29th at a local bike shop....a missed connection that weighs heavy on my heart. Knowing one must continue in their journey making positive strides!

I arrive in Tennessee late Monday night.  My trusty steed still needing to go into the bike box, panniers and all other gear still needing another once over and repack before my flight. By Wednesday, July 31st, early am I have tied up most loose ends prior to flight, minimal sleep requirements almost met and a trip to the airport at 3:30am with goodbyes said to dear ones, I step into the Nashville airport.

I quickly realized I got into the wrong line and had to move to the correct airline ticketing line. For a few moments I held out hope for a that a nice gentleman would help move my bike box. Bahaha nope, not this time.  I solo pulled my bike box to the correct  ticketing counter. When called to the counter, I set my bike box on the scale and she is 6lbs overweight. With quick thinking and a roll of tape, I remove my handle bar bag and saved $45 weighing in at 50.5lbs just a half pound under the overweight limit. Whew! I head to the gate with other gear in tow. First flight is delayed by a mechanical issue that would cause me to lose my connection at LAX. Staying flexible, I transfer to another flight, praying my bike and gear make the change as well. 

Landed in Seattle at noontime and I was excited when I saw through the window my orange panniers coming off the plane. Side note, the orange panniers were purchased from my friend Andrea in Volusia county who years ago was days away from her first tour when she was hit from behind. With a ton of recovery she is alive. Five years later she is still unable to tour. So Andrea you picked a great visible color and you will be with me on this tour!

My bike and gear make it down the baggage belt...all intact! I head over to the USO and take my time putting her back together.  Rolling toward the bus transit area I decide to take 3 buses to catch up with my cycling friends Robb from NY with The Big Ride for EB and Kim Dioro from Atlantic beach, FL. Tonight we are meeting at a Warmshower hosts house in Rochester. The furthest bus takes me to Tumwater, 14 miles away from Kim and Robb. As I am on my 1st bus, I am catching up on my social media notifications. I see that a guy I went to school with in the small town of Gilbert, AZ has accepted my friend request from a few weeks back and commented on my post. As providence would have it, he lives 15 minutes from Tumwater! He drove over to the high school and met me a few minutes after I got off my last bus. We haven't had a face to face conversation in probably 34 years. The sun was fading fast as we talked about life.  With huge smiles on our faces, heartfelt hugs given  and contact info exchanged we said our goodbyes. I set off on my trusty steed, on cloud nine and my love tank on full as I cycle into the fading sun to see Robb and Kim! At O dark 30, reunion with Kim and Robb was finally here! So good to finally meet up with them! Our host, Jeff met us in the corral where we were setting up my tent. I am blessed to have made it and have a safe place to sleep, rest and dream about the coming months.

I fade into a heavy sleep full of sweet dreams, tailwinds and adventures.

An already amazing day one on the books!

Kayak, bikes, Arbonne supplies check ✔
Heart 2 Comment 0
My steed and gear at the Nashville airport.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Final destination of the bus rides. Bike ready to roll, love tank full and a smile on my face. Let the tour begin!
Heart 1 Comment 0
My tent set up at our Warmshower host pasture. Peaceful and safe.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Right to left, Jeff's wife, Jeff, Robb, Kim and I having a group photo before they head to work and we head to cycle!
Heart 0 Comment 0
My steed, my pink pool noodle and helmet. Let's roll!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 14 miles (23 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0