Rochester to Longview to Portland, Oregon - The Beautiful Pacific - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2019 to August 7, 2019

Rochester to Longview to Portland, Oregon

Sunrises, sunsets and everything in between

Morning came quickly. Kim and Robb and I worked on breakfast, packing up and rolling out. We were all heading for the Fine Warmshowers Hosts home in Longview.  Robb was taking a more direct route, while Kim and I planned on taking a more scenic route.

Breakfast at Jeff's house included plump freshly picked blueberries, hard boiled eggs and great conversation.

Left to right me, Kim, Robb, Jeff and his wife. Great hosts!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Rochester to Longview

Kim and I rolled out after Robb. We had good weather in the morning and the hot sunny weather in the afternoon. While riding I was watching Mount Saint Helen's in the distance, thinking don't piss her off, she will blow her top! After all the scenic views we could handle for one day coupled with headwinds, hills, hills and more hills we called in for a SAG. Marti Fine was beyond kind to pick us up at a Farmer's market in Toledo.  

As we made our way to the Fine household in Longview, Kim and Marti caught up like old friends. I was asleep in the backseat doing my best to catch flies with my mouth agape. Robb and Dave, Marti's husband greeted us upstairs. It was a warm homecoming for us all. Kim had hosted Marti and Dave one night in Florida. Warmshowers is such a wonderful cycling community that builds lifelong friendships.  After a wonderful dinner, laundry, good conversations, a few beers, snuggles from Monkey the cat with a scratchy voice we all retired and rested for the next day of touring.  Kim heading to Astoria. Robb and I, were heading to Portland.

In the morning, we had a delicious breakfast at the Fine's. After packing up we all rolled into Longview for a coffee meet up with their cycling friends. We talked of routes, told tales of touring with smiles and laughter abounding from the long table at Starbucks.

Kim rolled out to Puget Island while Robb and I headed to Portland on Hwy 30. A nice wide shoulder coupled with a bit of traffic. 

Robb and I coming into Oregon!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Prescott, Portland! Who knew?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Robb had a whopper of a hill to get to his accommodations. So long, see ya, tailwinds my friend!

Up, up, uphill.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I climbed into Portland, stopped at the Bike Gallery and changed my cassette to accommodate the hills. Decided to take the safe route to Springwater Corridor via the city bus. Stay flexible friends! Turns out the corridor is known for mischievous activity. I rolled to my best friend Rich's neighborhood with a dead cellphone and memories. I ended up stopping at a nearby neighbors house and called his Mom, Geri. She swung by and picked me up. 

I grabbed a much needed shower. Geri had made the most delicious stir fry.  We laughed and caught up over dinner.

What an excellent meal prepared by Geri. I have sure missed her cooking!
Heart 1 Comment 0

The next 5 days were filled with beautiful moments catching up with my best friend, spending time with my mom who was in for a convention, checking in with old friends, road trips, rest and fantastic projects! Time well spent! I got back to cycling on Thursday, well rested with my love tank full!

Yindi and meet for the first time.❤
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading to the cabin near the Klickitat river. Good times catching and cutting up with Rich.💜🤣
Heart 1 Comment 0
How does one take their best friend four wheeling? On a trailer of course. Slowly or it will be a dirt bath!
Heart 2 Comment 0
A beautiful view!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yindi patiently awaiting our arrival back to the cabin.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sunset over the Columbia River Gorge after a day spent at the cabin.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A morning trip to the nursery for an afternoon of planting. ❤
Heart 1 Comment 0
Perennials added for a pop of color on the retaining wall.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Geri and Rich's beautiful garden
Heart 1 Comment 0
A day of planting on the books ends in the best way...laughing swinging and into the sunset❤
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yindi senses my departure. " You must stay. Stay. Do not go. I'm going to show you my sad face."
Heart 1 Comment 0

After 5 days of rest, my love tank full and beautiful memories made, I set off Wednesday from Gresham via the train to Hillsboro, OR. I am hoping to catch Kim along the coast soon.

Today's ride: 111 miles (179 km)
Total: 125 miles (201 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Lori CroweIt sounds beautiful and exhausting! I want to hear how God is meeting you on your adventure! And, tell me about your ARBONNE products! How's that micellar water working for this trip? ❤️
Reply to this comment
4 years ago