Jour Vingt Quatre - France on a roll -- depending on charm - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2011

Jour Vingt Quatre

It's pretty difficult to top yesterday, but it was still a nice day. Above St. Secur there is another little town that is way, and I mean WAY up on a hill. It was so close I left most of my stuff in camp (to return for on the way down) and slogged up. It was a COOL little town, and what a view!

While I was reading one of the plaques about something in the town a man was getting in his car near me and said hello in English, so we talked for a bit about a son of his in Los Angeles. Then I said, "Hey, how did you know I didn't speak French?" Of course it's always a relief, not to have to go through the whole, "I only speak a little French" bit, in bad French to boot. Still 1% of me was a little put off thinking, has my French gotten so bad that it now shows on my face before I even open my mouth?

But he answered, "You have an American Flag on your jersey."
"Oh, yeah," I said. "I made sure to wear it today because it's the 4th of July."

Happy 4th of July everyone!

After that the day was pretty "routine", nice bike paths, scenic towns, historic sights, you know, routine stuff like that.

Around mid-afternoon I was riding down the side of a canal when I came upon about 8 to 10 kids ranging from age of about 10 to 12 years old. One little girl was jumping off a little bridge into the water, it looked like a great kid summer hang out place.

"Does anyone speak English?" I yelled jokingly.
"NO!" they all yelled back with a laugh.
Then I "mimed" for the girl to jump off the bridge again so I could take her picture. After that, while the little girl was climbing out of the water some of the boys did indeed display some of there English skills...

"I like sex! I like sex!" The boys started yelling.
"You do?" I yelled back.
"I like sex! You like sex?"
"I like sex!" I responded
"I love you!" one boy said
"I love you!" I replied to everyone's delight.
"I like sex," they yelled again for good measure.
"How old are you?" One asked me.
"Really OLD!" I replied.
"I like sex!" they added again, in case I forgot the first time.

That was about the depth of the conversation.

When the little girl got back onto the bridge I told her to come over.
"Je m'appelle Karen" I said.
She smiled the cutest smile and said, kind of quietly, in English, "I am Michelle."
I then presented her with a flag lapel pin and she sucked in a big breath of air and said, "OH, merCI!" with a huge smile.
"Du rien" I said.

I think all of the little boys who "liked sex" were a little jealous :-)

Tomorrow I will be in Nevers and the official end of the Loire a Velo. I guess in the end I could have made it all the way from start to finish, but it's hard to estimate. I have about a week before I need to start making my way back to England and the flight home. Tomorrow I will decide what to do next. I'll let you know when I know.

:-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near St. Secur
Heart 1 Comment 0
A boat going through a lock on the canal
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the Loire a Velo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Boats and cycling. A GREAT combination!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The little girl jumping off the bridge :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
What is this, France or West Texas?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 79 km (49 miles)
Total: 1,276 km (792 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0